Byrne signing increases WSBK grid

Althea Racing and Guandalini Racing bring the number of confirmed World Superbike entries for 2010 up to 17
The number of confirmed entries for the 2010 World Superbike Championship continues to grow with the announcement that Althea Racing will enter two bikes next season.

The Italian team, which first entered the Superbike class in 2008, ran a single Honda for Tommy Hill initially before he was replaced by Supersport graduate Matthieu Lagrive. For 2010, Althea will expand to two bikes and switch to Ducati machinery.

They have managed to lure two high-profile riders in Carlos Checa and Shane Byrne too, the former a two-time WSBK race winner and MotoGP front runner, while the latter is a two-time British Superbike Champion.

Additionally, Jakub Smrz will swell the number of privateer Ducatis on the grid by confirming he will enter into a third season with Guandalini Racing.

Currently, each of the top ten riders from the 2009 classification (excluding MotoGP bound Ben Spies) will return to World Superbikes next season.

The highest-placed finisher without a ride for 2010 is Ryuichi Kiyonari, while Regis Laconi, Broc Parkes, Lagrive and Leon Camier are also top twenty finishers with no signed deal. Laconi and Camier, however, have been tipped to ride for DFX Ducati and Aprilia next season respectively.

Including Aprilia's as-yet-unnamed second factory rider, there are 17 definite entries for next season, with DFX, Sterilgarda, Stiggy and Pedercini among those yet to confirm their plans.

2010 World Superbike Championship grid – confirmed signings:

1. Noriyuki Haga JPN Ducati Xerox
2. Michel Fabrizio ITA Ducati Xerox
3. James Toseland GBR Yamaha Sterilgarda
4. Cal Crutchlow GBR Yamaha Sterilgarda
5. Jonathan Rea GBR Ten Kate Honda
6. Max Neukirchner GER Ten Kate Honda
7. Leon Haslam GBR Suzuki Alstare
8. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Alstare
9. Chris Vermeulen AUS Kawasaki SRT
10. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki SRT
11. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing
12. Troy Corser AUS BMW
13. Ruben Xaus ESP BMW
14. TBA Aprilia Racing

15. Carlos Checa ESP Althea Ducati
16. Shane Byrne GBR Althea Ducati
17. Jakub Smrz CZE Guandalini Ducati

Tagged as: Honda , Yamaha , Kawasaki , Ducati , Suzuki , BMW , Aprilia , Althea , Checa , Byrne

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Checa, Portuguese WSBK Test 2009
Checa, Portuguese WSBK Test 2009
Checa, Portuguese WSBK Test 2009b
Checa, Portuguese WSBK Test 2009
Checa, Portuguese WSBK Test 2009
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Honda Musashi Harc Pro - Takahashi, Haslam and Van Der Mark - win 2014 Suzuka 8 Hours (Pic: David Reygondeau).
Yoshimura, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Yanagawa and Aegerter, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Haslam, Takahashi, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Tsuda and Takahashi, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Tsuda and Aoki, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Tsuda, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Amolr - Unregistered

November 15, 2009 1:10 PM

My 2 cents..... i think the title contenders will be haga, biaggi and rea. neither of the yamahas will trouble the leaders. its ex champ rider is low on confidence and its other rider is a rookie, and though he is very good, his name is not Ben spies. Fabrizio will be a nuiscance, especially for nori, but now that tardozzi has quit fabrizio has no one to make out with in the duc garage! :-o :p suzuki will be off the 10 perhaps. neukirch will struggle to readapt in the 1st half of the season and hence will be out of the title fight i think. who else is left?? so finally come the final round of 2010, it will be haga v/s biaggi with rea with an outside chance.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.