Despite the best efforts of Eugene Laverty, Joan Lascorz kept Kawasaki perched at the head of the timesheets during provisional qualifying for the opening round of the 2010 World Supersport Championship at Phillip Island.

With the top three covered by just 0.054secs, Lascorz stayed as the man to beat throughout as he continuously lowered his lap time over the 45 minute session, the Spaniard ending with a best of 1min 34.629secs.

Three tenths off the lap record, Lascorz was very nearly overhauled by Laverty in the closing seconds, the Parkalgar Honda man up on his rival through all but the crucial final sector.

Nonetheless, it was enough to get him ahead of Sofuoglu, who remains poised in third position after he too looked set to snatch the top spot until the final corners of his lap.

Just behind, practice pace setter Katsuaki Fujiwara and Michele Pirro kept a watching brief in fourth and fifth, as did Chaz Davies, who made huge gains between sessions to slip beneath 1min 35secs and score sixth place on the provisional grid.

Fabien Foret and Miguel Praia followed in seventh and eighth, while a late improvement for Sebastian Charpentier moved him up to ninth and bumped Triumph team-mate Jason Di Salvo down to tenth.