Smrz, Biaggi lead way after Q2

The Czech rider secures provisional pole status over Max Biaggi after doing his quick lap time first.
Jakub Smrz and Max Biaggi put in their pitch for a Superpole challenge later today by going fastest in second provisional qualifying in Portugal, the pair emerging with identical lap times.

Amidst a flurry of activity in the latter stages of the session, Smrz moved in front with just under ten minutes remaining, with Biaggi joining him there with a lap of 1min 43.003secs. The fact Smrz did his lap first, however, means the Czech rider heads into Superpole with 'provisional pole' status.

As ever, things were tight at the top with Michel Fabrizio, Leon Haslam, Jonathan Rea and Carlos Checa all split by just a tenth from third down to sixth position, the quartet all improving their times late on to ensure the fight for pole position remains an open competition.

Despite ending the session seventh, James Toseland himself was only three tenths adrift of Smrz in front, the Briton out pacing Noriyuki Haga in eighth, the Japanese rider making steady progress up the order having been classified outside the top ten after day one.

Tom Sykes posted one of the session's big improvements to catapult his sole Kawasaki SRT up to ninth position, while BMW's Troy Corser ensured all seven manufacturers are represented inside the top ten.

After rallying towards the top of the timesheets initially, Shane Byrne completed just three laps due to a crash, the Althea rider slipping back to 11th by the close of the session, ahead of Sylvain Guintoli and Ruben Xaus, the Spaniard making a marked improvement having initially looked at risk of failing to make Superpole.

Going in the other direction, Cal Crutchlow and Leon Camier were 14th and 15th quickest, ahead of privateer Ducati pair Lorenzo Lanzi and Luca Scassa, while Max Neukirchner scraped into Superpole in 18th after failing to improve his time from Q1.

Finally, Reitwagen BMW will have both of their riders present in Superpole, Andrew Pitt finishing marginally ahead of new recruit Makoto Tamada.

Losing out on the chance to qualify again this afternoon was Sheridan Morais, Matteo Baiocco, Vittorio Iannuzzo and Roger Lee Hayden

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Smrz, Portuguese WSBK 2010
Smrz, Portuguese WSBK 2010
Smrz, Portuguese WSBK 2010
Smrz, Australian WSBK Race 1 2010
Smrz, Australian WSBK Race 1 2010
Smrz, Australian WSBK 2010
Gino Rea, WSS Race, Aragon WSBK 2017
Kyle Ryde and Jonathan Rea, WSS Race, Aragon WSBK 2017
Gino Rea, WSS Race, Aragon WSBK 2017
Camier, Ramos and Bradl, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
VD Mark and Sykes, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
Ramos and Camier, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
Jonathan Rea and Davies, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
Jonathan Rea, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
Jonathan Rea and Davies, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
Camier, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
Sykes, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017
Jonathan Rea, Race2, Aragon WSBK 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.