Eugene Laverty will look to become the first rider to win a World Supersport race from pole position this season after leading the way once more at Kyalami.

Bidding to make it three back-to-back victories as he attempts to close on rivals Joan Lascorz and Kenan Sofuoglu in the standings, Laverty, who has topped each session so far this weekend, was again in imperious form during qualifying.

A Honda 1-2-3, Ten Kate pair Kenan Sofuoglu and Michele Pirro will line-up alongside him, while Katsuaki Fujiwara completes the front row on the best of the Kawasakis.

Related Articles

Despite failing to improve on his Q1 time, Matthieu Lagrive will start as the best Triumph rider in fifth position, marginally ahead of team-mate Chaz Davies and Massimo Roccoli.

There was disappointment, however, for championship leader Joan Lascorz, who could only manage a spot on the outside of the second row in eighth position.

Rounding out the top ten were David Salom and Robbin Harms, just ahead of local wild-card rider Lance Isaacs. Gino Rea starts 12th after losing time with a fall mid-way through the session.