Series leader Kenan Sofuoglu has taken pole position for the seventh round of the World Supersport Championship at Miller Motorsports Park.

The Turk, who leads the overall standings by a single point, turned around a deficit of nine tenths to Eugene Laverty after Q1 to edge the Irishman with a new lap record of 1min 51.281secs.

Laverty did look capable of sneaking back ahead of Sofuoglu with his final lap as the first two sectors flashed purple, but the Irishman would lose time towards the end as he settled for second position.

Just behind, Kawasaki look poised in third and fourth, with 2009 pole sitter Joan Lascorz leading team-mate Katsuaki Fujiwara.

Triumph are also in the mix with David Salom and Chaz Davies qualifying fifth and sixth, the pair being joined on row two by Michele Pirro and Fabien Foret.

Robbin Harms and local man Jason Di Salvo rounded out the top ten, with Briton Gino Rea just outside in eleventh on his first visit to Miller Motorsports Park.