It seems surprising that there are only four races remaining in this year's World Superbike Championship, but with just 100 points left on the table, things are looking good for Max Biaggi.

While Nurburgring wasn't exactly the Italian's best weekend of the year - in fact it was arguably his worst having failed to podium from pole position -, a battered and bruised Leon Haslam could only slice two points off his margin.

It means we can confidently call Biaggi the champion-elect heading to Imola, where Aprilia will no doubt be hoping he can wrap things up on home soil should he simply keep his advantage above 50 points at the end of the weekend.

In fact, Haslam is now closer to Jonathan Rea than he is to Biaggi after the Northern Irishman claimed the biggest haul of points in Germany with a win and a second place. Still, while he faces a tough task to close the 51 point gap, he is at least looking good for third overall now following Carlos Checa's crash.

The Spaniard is himself just seven points up on the charging Cal Crutchlow, while Noriyuki Haga has broken into the 200s with his second win of the season.

Despite failing to capitalise on his front row starting position, the day's big winner was Sylvain Guintoli, who jumps from 11th to eighth as he maintained his perfect scoring record. He benefits from the withdrawn Leon Camier, Michel Fabrizio's double DNF and Troy Corser's abysmal race day.

Further back, Tom Sykes moves up a place to 15th after a fine haul of 20 points, one that also puts him on the tail of Ruben Xaus and Jakub Smrz in the fight for 13th and 14th.

In the manufacturer standings, Aprilia still leads Suzuki, although Haga's win does move Ducati to within 18 points of second now. Honda and Yamaha continue to contest fourth, Rea's win moving the former back ahead again.

2010 World Superbike Championship rider standings (Previous round standings position in brackets)

1. (1) Max Biaggi Aprilia Alitalia 397 points 2. (2) Leon Haslam Suzuki Alstare 339 3. (3) Jonathan Rea Ten Kate Honda 288 4. (4) Carlos Checa Althea Ducati 224 5. (5) Cal Crutchlow Yamaha Sterilgarda 217 6. (7) Noriyuki Haga Ducati Xerox 202 7. (6) James Toseland Yamaha Sterilgarda 187 8. (11) Sylvain Guintoli Suzuki Alstare 169 9. (8) Leon Camier Aprilia Alitalia 164 10. (9) Michel Fabrizio Ducati Xerox 160 11. (10) Troy Corser BMW Motorrad 159 12. (12) Shane Byrne Althea Ducati 136 13. (14) Ruben Xaus BMW Motorrad 85 14. (13) Jakub Smrz PATA B&G Ducati/Aprilia 76 15. (16) Tom Sykes Kawasaki SRT 70 16. (15) Luca Scassa Supersonic Ducati 61 17. (17) Lorenzo Lanzi DFX Ducati 54 18. (18) Max Neukirchner Ten Kate Honda 41 19. (19) Chris Vermeulen Kawasaki SRT 10 20. (21) Roger Lee Hayden Pedercini Kawasaki 10 21. (20) Broc Parkes Echo CRS Honda 9 22. (22) Joshua Brookes Echo CRS/HM Plant Honda 6 23. (24) Matteo Baiocco Pedercini Kawasaki 5 24. (-) Ian Lowry Kawasaki SRT 4 25. (23) Sheridan Morais EmTek Aprilia 3 26. (25) Andrew Pitt Reitwagen BMW 3

2010 World Superbike Championship manufacturer standings (Previous round standings position in brackets)

1. (1) Aprilia 408 points 2. (2) Suzuki 360 3. (3) Ducati 342 4. (5) Honda 299 5. (4) Yamaha 285 6. (6) BMW 190 7. (7) Kawasaki 77


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment