WSBK Championship standings - Phillip Island

Carlos Checa becomes the first rider since Neil Hodgson in 2003 to win both races at a World Superbike Championship season opener.
As far as dominant displays go, Carlos Checa's performance at Phillip Island from the moment he ventured out onto the circuit has been nothing short of exemplary.

Even taking into account the two days of pre-season testing around the Australian circuit last week, Checa has barely put a wheel wrong as he topped all but one session through the weekend – and even then that's only if you consider the wet warm-up a proper session…

Two race wins means he leaves Australia with a full quota of 50 points, though he may be a little disheartened to see he only commands a fairly slim ten point advantage over Max Biaggi, who keeps Checa on a leash with two second place finishes.

Performing well around a circuit that Biaggi insists doesn't suit the Aprilia RSV-4, it's worth noting that the reigning champion scored just 19 points at Phillip Island in 2010…

Leon Haslam and Marco Melandri share third position after claiming a third and fifth place finish each, the latter proving particularly impressive on his Superbike debut in which he wasn't afraid to get stuck in from the start.

Michel Fabrizio is fifth after two solid top ten finishes, ahead of Jonathan Rea and Noriyuki Haga, while Tom Sykes holds eighth after keeping himself out of trouble aboard the Kawasaki.

In all, 18 riders would score in Australia – including the two wild-card riders Bryan Staring and Josh Waters -, with just Joan Lascorz, Mark Aitchison, Sylvain Guintoli and Maxime Berger failing to get on the board at the first time of asking.

2011 World Superbike Championship rider standings

1. Carlos Checa Althea Ducati 50
2. Max Biaggi Aprilia Alitalia40
3. Leon Haslam BMW Motorrad 27
4. Marco Melandri Yamaha SBK27
5. Michel Fabrizio Suzuki Alstare 18
6. Jonathan Rea Castrol Honda 17
7. Noriyuki Haga PATA Aprilia 16
8. Tom Sykes Kawasaki RTS 15
9. Eugene Laverty Yamaha SBK14
10. Jakub Smrz Effenbert-Liberty Ducati 14
11. Leon Camier Aprilia Alitalia 13
12. Roberto Rolfo Pedercini Kawasaki 9
13. Ruben Xaus Castrol Honda 6
14. Troy Corser BMW Motorrad 6
15. Josh Waters Yoshimura Suzuki 3
16. James Toseland BMW Italia 2
17. Ayrton Badovini BMW Italia 2
18. Bryan Staring Pedercini Kawasaki 1

2011 World Superbike Championship manufacturer standings

1. Ducati 50 points
2. Aprilia 40
3. Yamaha 29
4. BMW 27
5. Suzuki 18
6. Honda 17
7. Kawasaki 15

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Biaggi, Race Start, Australian WSBK Race 1 2011
Rider line up for WorldSSP300, Aragon WSBK 2017
Milwaukee Aprilia, Aragon WSBK 2017
Milwuakee Aprilia, Aragon WSBK 2017
Milwaukee Aprilia, Aragon WSBK 2017
Milwaukee Aprilia, Aragon WSBK 2017
Milwaukee Aprilia, Aragon WSBK 2017
Milwaukee Aprilia, Aragon WSBK 2017
Milwaukee Aprilia, Aragon WSBK 2017
Melandri, Aragon WSBK 2017
Melandri, Aragon WSBK 2017
Melandri, Aragon WSBK 2017
Melandri, Aragon WSBK 2017
Melandri, Aragon WSBK 2017
Melandri, Aragon WSBK 2017
Melandri, Aragon WSBK 2017
Jonathan Rea, WSBK race2,Thai WSBK 2017
Rea, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.