POLL: Who will win 2012 WSBK title?

Who do you think will win the 2012 World Superbike Championship title? To submit your vote, simply CLICK HERE...
It's been another long, cold winter without any motorcycle racing to warm the cockles, but this weekend sees the World Superbike Championship roar back into action to kick off what promises to be an exciting year of two-wheel competition.

Once again, Phillip Island assumes duties as the 2012 opener, the popular Melbourne circuit usually offering a welcome dose of sun and blue sky to set the tone for the year.

As ever, the winter period has been a hive of activity and though we have lost a formidable competitor in Yamaha, we actually start the season with 24 full-time riders – two more than at the start of last season.

But with testing getting underway later than usual, just days before the start of the 2012 season, identifying a title pick for the year ahead hasn't been so simple.

So far, reigning champion Carlos Checa has been the most consistently fast rider, but the man himself is playing down his hopes on the 6kg heavier Althea Ducati, while we only have Phillip Island – a traditional Checa/Ducati stronghold - as a reference point.

As such, you may be tempted with the likes of Max Biaggi, Jonathan Rea or Leon Haslam, each of which remain with their respective Aprilia, Honda and BMW teams for this season, or fancy a punt on Eugene Laverty, Marco Melandri or Leon Camier, who take to Aprilia, BMW and Suzuki machinery for the first time in 2012.

Maybe you're brave enough to opt for a leftfield choice like John Hopkins, Hiroshi Aoyama and Tom Sykes, though the latter's excellent pace during pre-season testing for Kawasaki suggests he could be more than an outsider this year.

If anything, the spread of quality on this year's grid is higher than ever, so choosing a favourite is no easy task. Nonetheless, we are asking you to put your money where your mouth is and reveal your predicted title winner.

Last year voted Biaggi as the pre-season favourite ahead of eventual winner Checa and Rea, so who will you be choosing this year…?

To submit your vote, simply CLICK HERE...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Davies, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Rea, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Brookes, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Brookes, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Checa, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Brookes, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Checa, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Rea, Australian WSBK, February 2012
Walters, Australian WSBK 2015
Metcher Australian WSBK 2015
Wagner Australian WSBK 2015
Lambert, WSS, Australian WSBK 2015
Phillis, WSS, Australian WSBK 2015
Scott, WSS, Australian WSBK 2015
Wagner, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Alex Phillis, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Glenn Scott, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Wagner, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Sick Cylinder - Unregistered

February 22, 2012 1:21 PM

I voted for Max Biaggi - not because I want him to win - but because last year he made so many mistakes, which I don't think he will repeat. If his mind is right and he stops giving away points he could have another championship in him.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.