Germany WSBK: Davies back on top at the Nurburgring

Chaz Davies's name is back on top of a Nurburgring timesheet once more as he heads up Q1, ahead of Tom Sykes, Michel Fabrizio and Leon Camier.
CLICK HERE to view full Q1 times

Twelve months on from claiming a surprise maiden World Superbike Championship win at the Nurburgring, Chaz Davies continued to prove the German circuit is something of a happy hunting ground for him as he swept to the top of the timesheets in Q1.

In a session dominated by Kawasaki until the final few minutes, Tom Sykes's initial benchmark of 1min 55.051secs – which was set early in the session - had seemingly looked good enough to stave off the typical barrage of late improvements as several riders came up short.

However, a flying effort from Davies on the BMW would see him vault to the head of the order in the closing minutes, putting him just 0.017secs ahead of his countryman.

Just as he did in FP1, Michel Fabrizio's final charge was good enough for him to grab third place to be the leading Aprilia rider, ahead of Suzuki's Leon Camier and Honda's Jonathan Rea.

Having been second for the majority of the session, Loris Baz would eventually slip down to seventh position, ahead of Leon Haslam, Eugene Laverty and Marco Melandri.

Outside the top ten, Jules Cluzel spent much of his afternoon on the cusp of the top 15 but would eventually raise himself to 11th place, heading off Davide Giugliano – who managed just four laps after falling at turn four – and Markus Reiterberger, the wild-card impressing to secure himself a provisional entry for Superpole.

Joining him inside the all-important top 15 was Ayrton Badovini and Max Neukirchner on their respective Ducatis, though it was a tougher end to the day for Panigale counterpart Carlos Checa, who fell at turn eight early on in the session and wouldn't set a time.

He will now go into Q2 looking to improve into the top 15, along with Mark Aitchison, Matej Smrz, Federico Sandi and Vittorio Iannuzzo

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Davies, British WSBK 2013
Davies, British WSBK 2013
Davies, Race 1, British WSBK 2013
Matt Davies, WSS600, British WSBK 2013
Davies, British WSBK 2013
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Honda Musashi Harc Pro - Takahashi, Haslam and Van Der Mark - win 2014 Suzuka 8 Hours (Pic: David Reygondeau).
Yoshimura, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Yanagawa and Aegerter, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Van der Mark, Haslam, Takahashi, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Tsuda and Takahashi, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Tsuda and Aoki, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Tsuda, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.