During the Silverstone round of the World Superbike Championship a meeting was held at which all riders were asked to vote for their own representatives - four WSBK Riders plus one WSS Rider - to join the Superbike Safety Commission.

The elected Riders' representatives were: Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team), Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK), Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike), Carlos Checa (Team Ducati Alstare) and Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) for WSS.

These riders will represent all riders - including the Superstock classes - during meetings, talks and consultations.

They will join the existing Superbike Safety Commission composed by the Race Direction members: Igor Eskinja - FIM Safety Officer, Gregorio Lavilla - WSBK Sporting Director, Giulio Bardi - Team and Riders representative, Gianfranco Carloia - WSBK Race Director, and Daniel Carrera, WSBK Championship Director.

At each Round, the Safety Commission will meet to consider proposals for any changes that could be made at the circuit to improve safety, as well as to discuss different aspects and procedures covered by the sporting regulations of the Championship.

The first meeting of the Superbike Safety Commission was held last weekend during the German round at the N?rburgring in Germany.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment