World Superbike star Eugene Laverty is among the favourites to be crowned 'Irish Motorcyclist of the Year' in Belfast on Friday at the prestigious Adelaide Motorcycle Awards.

The coveted Joey Dunlop trophy will be awarded to the winner of the top accolade, which was presented to road racer Ryan Farquhar in 2013.

Laverty and Isle of Man TT hero Michael Dunlop are the big favourites for the main award at the event, which features a star-studded guest list including World Supersport champion Sam Lowes.

Related Articles

Irish rider Laverty won nine World Superbike races on the factory Aprilia RSV4 on his way to the runner-up spot in the championship, while Dunlop claimed four TT wins in a week in the Superbike, Supersport and Superstock classes.

British Supersport contender Alastair Seeley and Pata Honda's Jonathan Rea are also among the eight nominations for the silverware.

The winner is decided by a public vote with the outcome overseen by a panel of judges including Jeremy McWilliams, Phillip McCallen, Ryan Farquhar and Adrian Coates.

The glittering bash in Belfast has become one of the key events on the Northern Ireland motorsport calendar.

A total of 12 awards will be presented on the evening, including International Road Racer of the Year, Team of the Year, Short Circuit Rider of the Year and Race of the Year.