Entry list for 2014 WSBK season revealed

The FIM publishes the provisional entry list for the 2014 World Superbike Championship season, with 27 entries - including Bimota, Toni Elias and 12 EVO bikes...
The FIM has released the provisional entry list for the 2014 World Superbike Championship, with up to 27 bikes across nine manufacturers listed to compete this season.

With the opening round less than a month away, the announcement confirms a number of previous rumours, most notably that Toni Elias has been granted an entry with Red Devils Roma Aprilia, while defending champion Tom Sykes will run with the No.1 plate in 2014.

In all, 15 entries will compete in the main championship class across eight manufacturers, including newcomers MV Agusta and Erik Buell Racing, who join the series in 2014.

Beyond the manufacturer-nominated teams (which make up 13 of the entries), Elias has been listed to ride a satellite Aprilia RSV4 with Red Devils Roma, contrary to rumours that the team was struggling to find the finances to compete in 2014. In addition, Supersport regular Imre Toth will ensure at least one BMW will be represented in the main class with his privateer S1000RR entry.

In addition, the new EVO class has served to bolster the grid significantly, with an additional 12 bikes listed to compete across up to four manufacturers - seven Kawasakis, two BMWs, one Ducati and two Bimotas (subject to homologation).

The opening round of the 2014 World Superbike Championship season gets underway at Phillip Island on February 21-23

2014 Provisional WSBK entry list

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R
2. Christian Iddon GBR Alstare Bimota BB3 (E) *
7. Chaz Davies GBR Ducati SBK 1199R
9. Fabien Foret FRA MAHI Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
10. Imre Toth HUN BMW Team Toth S1000RR
11. Jeremy Guarnoni FRA MRS Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
20. Aaron Yates USA Team Hero EBR 1190RX
21. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
22. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
23. Luca Scassa ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
24. Toni Elias ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4
32. Sheridan Morais RSA IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
33. Marco Melandri ITA Aprilia Racing RSV4
34. Davide Giugliano ITA Ducati SBK 1199R
44. David Salom ESP Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R (E)
52. Sylvain Barrier FRA BMW Italia S1000RR (E)
56. Peter Sebestyen HUN BMW Team Toth S1000RR (E)
58. Eugene Laverty IRL Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
59. Niccolo Canepa ITA Althea Ducati 1199R (E)
65. Jonathan Rea GBR Pata Honda CBR1000RR
50. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing RSV4
71. Claudio Corti ITA MV Agusta RC Yakhnich F4RR
76. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R
84. Michel Fabrizio ITA IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
86. Ayrton Badovini ITA Alstare Bimota BB3 (E) *
91. Leon Haslam GBR Pata Honda CBR1000RR
99. Geoff May USA Team Hero EBR 1190RX

(E) denotes EVO class entry
* Subject to homologation

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tom Sykes is awarded the RAC Torrens Trophy [pic credit: LGM Photographic]
Tom Sykes is awarded the RAC Torrens Trophy [pic credit: LGM Photographic]
Tom Sykes is awarded the RAC Torrens Trophy by James Toseland and Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club’s Motoring Committee [pic credit: LGM Photographic]
Tom Sykes - Kawasaki Racing [pic credit: Kawasaki Press Service]
Jonathan Rea, WSBK race2,Thai WSBK 2017
Davies,Thai WSBK 2017
Badovini, Thai WSBK 2017
Caricasulo, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Kraisart, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Rea, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Kraisart, Caricasulo and Tuuli, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Kraisart, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Kraisart, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Tuuli, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Tuuli, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Caricasulo, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Kyle Ryde and Okubo, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017
Caricasulo and Kraisart, WSS race, Thai WSBK 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


January 30, 2014 11:16 AM

I was pretty annoyed that I wouldn't be able to follow MotoGP as closely this year due to BT Sport, but now I'm really not too fussed. WSBK is shaping up to be a mega season. Say what you will about Dorna, what they've done to WSBK is fantastic in my opinion. It is at the end of the day a production series, and the WSBK bikes of recent times were, admittedly by team principles, so far off the bikes in showrooms they may as well be GP machines, but now we will have a truely awesome production world championship. Even more so when all bikes are EVO class. 9 manufacturers, close racing, full grids, whats not to like? Bye bye MotoGP.


January 30, 2014 11:09 AM

LastOfTheLateBreakers - Are you for real? "Since when are Kawasaki competitive bike" All you have to do is look at ANY 1000cc road bike based category to see that Kawasaki is the bike of choice. "Laverty & Lowes are lightning fast but on Suzukis unfortunately.. Nuff said" with the new engine limitations brought in this year there will be no more 30-engines-a-year for the likes of the factory Kawasaki's and Aprilia's therefore the gap between those two manufacturers and Suzuki has been closed significantly. I could go on...

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.