WSBK Phillip Island: Large WSBK grid announced

The opening round of the 2014 World Superbike Championship at Phillip Island will see 25 riders make the start line.
The new era of World Superbike racing will kick off with 25 participants entered for the opening round of the 2014 season at Phillip Island, it has been confirmed.

A raft of technical and sporting regulation changes have been introduced for 2014 in an effort to cut costs, increase grid numbers and improve the show, including engine caps, the introduction of the stock-inspired EVO class and a new qualifying format.

In terms of grid numbers, the technical regulations have done their bit to improve in this area with 25 riders listed to compete at the Phillip Island opener in just over a week's time. Eliminating wild-card entries – of which there are none this year -, the grid is the largest seen for a WSBK curtain raiser since 2009 and improves upon the 19 full-time riders that started last year.

Much of this has been attributed to the introduction of the EVO class, which will see ten entrants at the opening round across Kawasaki, Ducati and BMW machinery, though the arrival of MV Agusta and Erik Buell Racing as new manufacturers means the 15-strong championship class has been bolstered too.

Absent from the Phillip Island entry list, however, is the prospective Alstare Bimota team. The EVO outfit, which is set to run Ayrton Badovini and Christian Iddon, is yet to pass homologation, though it was always expected to delay its debut until the second round at Aragon in April.

The new Tissot-Superpole format, meanwhile, will mirror that of MotoGP, where the top twenty riders from FP1, FP2 and FP3 will progress to Superpole. From here, the ten fastest riders will progress automatically to Superpole 2, with the 11th to 20th fastest riders participating in Superpole 1.

The fastest two riders in Superpole 1 will then join the remaining ten riders in Superpole 2 to contest pole position and the front four rows.

Phillip Island WSBK entry list

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R
7. Chaz Davies GBR Ducati SBK 1199R
9. Fabien Foret FRA MAHI Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
10. Imre Toth HUN BMW Team Toth S1000RR
11. Jeremy Guarnoni FRA MRS Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
20. Aaron Yates USA Team Hero EBR 1190RX
21. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
22. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
23. Luca Scassa ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
24. Toni Elias ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4
32. Sheridan Morais RSA IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
33. Marco Melandri ITA Aprilia Racing RSV4
34. Davide Giugliano ITA Ducati SBK 1199R
44. David Salom ESP Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R (E)
52. Sylvain Barrier FRA BMW Italia S1000RR (E)
56. Peter Sebestyen HUN BMW Team Toth S1000RR (E)
58. Eugene Laverty IRL Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
59. Niccolo Canepa ITA Althea Ducati 1199R (E)
65. Jonathan Rea GBR Pata Honda CBR1000RR
50. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing RSV4
71. Claudio Corti ITA MV Agusta RC Yakhnich F4RR
76. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R
84. Michel Fabrizio ITA IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R (E)
91. Leon Haslam GBR Pata Honda CBR1000RR
99. Geoff May USA Team Hero EBR 1190RX

(E) denotes EVO class entry

Tagged as: Kawasaki , Tom Sykes

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Cluzel, Australian WSBK 2013 Race 1
Sofuoglu leads 1st lap, Supersport race, Australian WSBK 2013
Lowes and Sofuoglu, Supersport race, Australian WSBK 2013
Rea and Camier, Australian WSBK 2013 Race 1
Sykes, Australian WSBK 2013 Race 1
Rea, Sykes, Davies, Podium, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Sykes, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Rea, Sykes, Davies, Podium, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Rea, Sykes, Davies, Podium, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Sykes, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Rea, Sykes, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Rea, Sykes, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Sykes celebration, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Rea, Sykes, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Sykes, Rea, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Sykes, Melandri, Rea, WSBK Race 2, US WSB 2017.
Sykes, US WSB 2017.
Sykes, US WSB 2017.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


February 13, 2014 11:49 AM

PI is a top venue and it's a right shame there won't be any locals on the interesting to clock the attendance? Hopefully when they're all EVO next year, Dorna's move to slash costs and equalise performance will encourage a few Aussie teams to have a go.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.