David Salom has established a comfortable 17 point cushion over Niccolo Canepa in the World Superbike EVO standings after scoring his best finish of the season in Sepang on a weekend his main rival otherwise struggled.

Despite still suffering with a hand injury, Salom had already hinted at his pace around the Malaysian circuit by reaching SP2 for the first time en route to 12th on the grid before emerging as a big beneficiary of the turn one tangle that eliminated Kawasaki Racing team-mates Loris Baz and Tom Sykes.

Rising as high as sixth, though Salom would be shuffled down by the faster championship class riders, he would still be classified as the top EVO representative in ninth place. Matching his best finish of the season and maintaining his perfect run of points' finishes in 2014, his cause was aided further by a technical retirement for Canepa.

Going on to finish 13th in race two, compared with Canepa's 15th, Salom has now moved 17 points clear in the EVO standings over the Italian.

"It was great to win in race one but it was very hard. The weather conditions were very difficult but we took the win we wanted and it is because we have worked very hard this weekend and all season. We got more points in the championship after these races.

"Even if I got beaten in the second race, because I had a really bad start, we still left here with a good championship lead. It was not possible to stay with Leon Camier but I had a fight with the other Evo riders, and beat them to the flag."

2014 WSBK EVO standings (After 6 rounds of 13)

1. David Salom ESP Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 56 points
2. Niccolo Canepa ITA Althea Ducati 1199 Panigale 39
3. Leon Camier GBR BMW Italia S1000RR 30
4. Jeremy Guarnoni FRA MRS Kawasaki ZX-10R 19
5. Luca Scassa ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 16
6. Fabien Foret FRA MAHI Kawasaki ZX-10R 14
7. Sheridan Morais RSA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 10
8. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 8
9. Glenn Allerton AUS BMW Italia S1000RR 6
10. Kervin Bos NED Winterb Honda CBR1000RR 5
11. Bryan Staring AUS Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 3
12. Michel Fabrizio ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 2
13. Romain Lanusse FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1