CLICK HERE to view Superpole 2 results

Jonathan Rea clinched a dream pole position start ahead of his race debut for Kawasaki at Phillip Island after Superpole was halted due to a crash involving David Salom.

Spanish rider Salom suffered a heavy high-side at Turn 12 with around four minutes remaining on the clock. The Pedercini Kawasaki rider was treated at trackside before being stretchered to an ambulance and following a slight delay the session was declared a result. Salom escaped serious injury in the crash.

Related Articles

Ulsterman Rea was credited with the fastest lap in 1m 31.212s ahead of Ducati's Chaz Davies, who had been the early pacesetter, and Red Devils Aprilia rider Leon Haslam.

It seemed as though Davies had clinched pole after he flashed across the line to set a time of 1m 31.800s, but his efforts counted for nothing as the red flag had been deployed as a result of Salom's accident.

Rea's time, set on a race tyre, gave him pole by 0.026s from Davies with Haslam a close third, with the British rider also setting his time using a race tyre.

Pata Honda's Michael van der Mark heads up row two ahead of Voltcom Crescent Suzuki's Alex Lowes and Nico Terol (Althea Ducati). Newcomer Terol had jumped into second place but, like Davies, his fastest lap was ruled out as it was set under a red flag.

Lowes, meanwhile, was forced to ride his spare bike after a high-speed spill in FP4.

Jordi Torres (Red Devils Aprilia), Kawasaki's Tom Sykes and world champion Sylvain Guintoli complete row three.

Althea Ducati's Matteo Baiocco, Salom and Tati Mercado (Barni Ducati) form row four, with Baiocco progressing to Superpole 2 after leading the way in Superpole 1 from Mercado.

Matthew Walters came off at Turn 1 in Superpole 1 after appearing to tuck the front end, causing the session to be red-flagged temporarily due to debris on the track.

Aussie legend Troy Bayliss ( Ducati) qualified 14th fastest on his return to World Superbike action for the first time since 2008, one place ahead of Leon Camier on the MV Agusta.

Bayliss came off during FP4 but was unscathed and participated in Superpole 1, finishing fourth fastest behind Randy de Puniet, who qualified in 13th on the Voltcom Crescent Suzuki.

Wildcard entry Jed Metcher will start from 16th on the grid on the Race Center Kawasaki ZX-10R with Walters claiming 19th despite his tumble in Superpole 1.