2nd - Chaz Davies Average poll score out of ten: 8.5 Team: Aruba.it Ducati Superbike Team Bike: Ducati 1199 Panigale R Wins: 5 Podiums: 18 Poles: 1 Fastest Laps: 5 Best Finish 1st Championship points: 416 Championship position: 2nd

After an absence of more than two years, Ducati returned to the top step of the World Superbike podium in 2015 as Chaz Davies did his bit to unlock the full potential of the 1199 Panigale R.

For a manufacturer accustomed to enjoying instant success with its Superbikes, though the Panigale's route from relative also-ran on its debut in 2013 to race winner in 2015 can be explained in part by the Italian firm's decision to up its factory involvement and more favourable regulations, Davies can also take a sizeable chunk of the credit too.

Related Articles

Indeed, while it was certainly a breakthrough year for the bike's development, this was also the year that confirmed Davies as a convincing title contender, the former World Supersport Champion earmarking himself as the most realistic rival to runaway title winner Jonathan Rea.

Though a title tilt was admittedly ruled out early on by Rea's barely blemished start to the 2015 season, Davies was barely off the podium himself all year either. Notching up Ducati's first win since 2012 with an accomplished ride at Motorland Aragon, Davies reached a new career-peak at Laguna Seca with an utterl flawless double victory from pole position.

Indeed, Davies' race craft came on leaps and bounds in 2015, the Welshman regularly finding himself embroiled in entertaining scraps with Rea and coming out on top more than once.

Landing five race wins and an impressive 18 podiums from 26 races, Davies would end the year in a career-best second place and a platform to go one better in 2016...

Previous WSBK Poll results for Chaz Davies WSBK Rider of the Year 2014: 5th WSBK Rider of the Year 2013: 4th WSBK Rider of the Year 2012: 4th WSBK Rider of the Year 2011: N/A WSBK Rider of the Year 2010: N/A

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

3. Tom Sykes 4. Jordi Torres 5. Michael van der Mark 6. Leon Haslam 7. Alex Lowes 8. Davide Giugliano 9. Davide Giugliano
Sylvain Guintoli

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Riders' World Championship standings, the WSBK Rider of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 50,000 votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net WSBK Rider of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of the top twenty from this year's WSBK standings with a mark out of ten.