The Malaysian round of the World Superbike championship at Sepang has dropped off the 2017 calendar and has been replaced by Portimao, while the penultimate round at Jerez is subject to confirmation.

After reported the Sepang International Circuit was looking to drop its World Superbike round due to low attendance figures, the Malaysian round has been switch for the return of Portimao after it missed hosting the series in 2016.

The bulk of the 2017 calendar follows the same path as last season starting in late February at Phillip Island before heading to Thailand ahead of the European stretch of the campaign which begins at Aragon.

Trips to Assen, Imola, Donington Park and Misano all hold on to their traditional slots over April, May and June before World Superbikes makes its single trip across the Atlantic for the Laguna Seca round on the 7-9 July.

After a six-week summer break the action resumes at Lausitzring on the 18-20 August before the return to Portimao in September. Magny-Cours is set to host the third to last round of the season on the provisional calendar until the 13-15 October round, believed to be at Jerez, is confirmed.

Qatar's Losail International Circuit hosts the final round on the 3-5 October, running from a changed schedule of Thursday to Saturday.

2017 World Superbike and World Supersport Championship calendar (provisional):

24-26 February Australia Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
10-12 March Thailand Chang International Circuit
30 March - 2 April Spain MotorLand Arag?n
28-30 April Netherlands TT Circuit Assen
12-14 May Italy Autodromo Int. Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola
26-28 May United Kingdom Donington Park
16-18 June Italy Misano World Circuit 'Marco Simoncelli'
7-9 July USA Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca* (WorldSBK only)
18-20 August Germany Lausitzring
15-17 September Portugal Portimao
1-3 October France Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours
13-15 October TBA TBA
3-5 November Qatar Losail International Circuit

*Subject to contract