Preview - EuroSpeedway Lausitz.

With three rounds and therefore six individual points scoring races left to run in the Corona Extra Superbike World championship, an overall season strategy can be put aside by the top contenders. For long-time championship leader James Toseland riding for Hannspree Ten Kate Honda, all he needs to do is keep racking up points and podiums to maintain or increase his impressive 66-point championship lead.

For the rest of the top five - the only riders still in with even an arithmetical chance of the championship win itself - have to make up Toseland's advantage, without worrying about the progress of any other rider. This simplification of the rules of engagement should heighten, not reduce the ferocity of the front running competition, which recommences after a month's lay-off since round ten at Brands Hatch.

At that event Toseland scored a double win, his first in World Superbike, but his rivals will be hoping that a change to the flat, featureless and generally tight EuroSpeedway Lausitz circuit will allow them to get back into closer company with Honda's top rider.

Noriyuki Haga on the Yamaha Motor Italia, Max Biaggi riding for Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra, Troy Bayliss aboard the Ducati Xerox and Troy Corser on the second Yamaha Motor Italia, comprise the chasing section of the top five quartet, and testimony to how accessible World Superbike has become since the advent of single make control tyres comes from that fact that there are four different makes of machine in the top four places - Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki and Ducati.

Of the top four chasing riders, Corser, some 128 points behind Toseland, has only a marginal chance of overhauling the Englishman, but almost as worryingly for the rest, no rider with the kind of lead Toseland has at this stage has ever surrendered it in the previous 19 years of World Superbike competition.

In terms of how fast any single rider can circulate the 4.265km EuroSpeedway Lausitz circuit, Troy Bayliss is the current best lap holder with a time of 1min 37.623secs, fastest in Superpole lapping in 1min 37.923secs and official lap record holder, his time 1min 38.635secs. Despite all these performances coming in his second championship-winning year for Ducati in 2006, Bayliss scored his three Lausitz race wins some time ago, in 2001 and 2002. In terms of recent race wins, three manufacturers have won at EuroSpeedway Lausitz, Honda twice, Ducati and Suzuki have taken one apiece.

Significantly, Toseland is the most recent winner of a Lausitz race, but aside from the aforementioned Bayliss, two other current SBK riders have been victorious at this track. Last year Yukio Kagayama on the Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra machine scored the first race win, and in 2005, Lorenzo Lanzi on the Ducati Xerox bike secured his first-ever SBK race win. Each of these riders has scored podium finishes this year, but it is Kagayama who has the best recent form in the 2007 season.

Sunday's 24-lap races will prove if history will been repeated or not, but it may be
significant that no Yamaha rider has ever won at EuroSpeedway Lausitz, and despite a test here earlier in the year, Max Biaggi has never raced at the German circuit before.

Ruben Xaus riding his Sterilgarda Ducati enters the EuroSpeedway Lausitz race with a slim two-point lead over the officially entered 999F07 machine of Lorenzo Lanzi. Xaus is the only rider outside the top four to have won a race this year, with the current win total reading Toseland 8, Bayliss 5, Haga 3, Biaggi 2, and Xaus 1 at his home round of Valencia in April.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Toseland, Brands Hatch WSBK Race 2 2007
Noriyuki Haga (JPN), Yamaha Motor Italia, Yamaha YZF R1, 41, Superbike Race 2
Bayliss, Brands Hatch WSBK 2007
Rea, Bayliss, Superpole, Australian WSBK, 2017
Sykes, Bayliss, Superpole, Australian WSBK, 2017
Melandri, Bayliss, Superpole, Australian WSBK, 2017
Shaina Salvia, Jonathan Rea [Credit: Imre Paulovits]
Shaina Salvia, Jonathan Rea [Credit: Imre Paulovits]
Biaggi, Misano WSBK 2016
Biaggi, Misano WSBK 2016
Biaggi, Misano WSBK 2016
Sofuoglu and Toseland, WSS Race, British WSBK 2016
Jacobsen, Sofuoglu Toseland and Krummenacher, WSS Race, British WSBK 2016
Biaggi and Jonathan Rea, WSBK Race2, Jerez WSBK 2015
Biaggi and Jonathan Rea, WSBK Race2, Jerez WSBK 2015
Biaggi and Jonathan Rea, WSBK Race2, Jerez WSBK 2015
Biaggi and Jonathan Rea, WSBK Race2, Jerez WSBK 2015
Biaggi and Jonathan Rea, WSBK Race2, Jerez WSBK 2015

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.