Laconi wins race 2, Haslam comes of age.

Ducati Fila rider Regis Laconi whipped his factory Ducati to an impressive second race victory margin of 21.549 seconds at Oschersleben today [Sunday] after long-term race leader Noriyuki Haga was forced to retire on lap 23.

James Toseland meanwhile overcame his practice problems to finish second, giving the works team another 1-2.

It was Toseland's fourth second placing in a row and he now leads the championship by a mere two points, after another intense day of competition in SBK racing. Toseland's new total is 157, Laconi's 155 and Pier Francesco Chili third on 113.

Leon Haslam also had a good day, completing the top three, to claim his first ever World Superbike podium. To cap his celebrations, it will be his 21st birthday tomorrow [Monday], and 21 is the traditional British 'coming of age' birthday celebration, when a boy becomes a man.

Of the rest Garry McCoy was fourth, with Giancluca Nannelli and Mauro Sanchini fifth and sixth.

Chris Walker was the lead Foggy Petronas Racing rider at the finish - seventh overall - after Troy Corser went off, crashing into a hay-bale head-first, he was not injured.

Chris Vermeulen had to make do with eighth, after a suspension or steering component in the front end of the machine caused chatter severe enough to drop him from third.

Ivan Clementi and Andy Meklau rounded off the top ten.

In total ten riders retired.


1. Régis Laconi
2. James Toseland
3. Leon Haslam
4. Garry McCoy
5. Giancluca Nannelli
6. Mauro Sanchini

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Laconi Wins, WSBK Race 2, Oschersleben, 2004
Haga,Laconi, WSBK Race 2, Oschersleben, 2004
Toseland 2nd,Laconi 1st,Haslam,3rd, WSBK Race 2, Oschersleben, 2004
Davies` Ducati refueling, Misano WSBK 2015
Max Biaggi (ITA), Aprilia, World Superbike [Credit: Aprilia]
Riders and teams on world environment day, Portuguese WSBK 2015
Riders and teams on world environment day, Portuguese WSBK 2015
Ducati Panagale eingine, Portuguese WSBK 2015
Tom Sykes (GBR), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli (FRA), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Randy de Puniet (FRA), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Nicol Terol (ESP), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Nicol Terol (ESP), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Niccolo Canepa (ITA), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael van der Mark (NED), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam (GBR), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Camier (GBR), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jordi Torres (ESP), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.