Toseland crowned World Superbike champion.

James Toseland has been crowned the 2004 World Superbike champion after finishing second to Noriyuki Haga in the final race of the season, at Magny Cours.

Toseland came into today's two races 4-points behind factory Ducati team-mate Regis Laconi, but his race one victory – combined with a third for Laconi, behind Haga – gave the Brit a 5-point lead heading into the all decisive race two.

Pole sitter Troy Corser again grabbed the holeshot, but by end of the opening laps the Foggy Petronas rider had slipped behind the lead group of Toseland (who banged bars with Chris Vermeulen to take second into turn one) Haga, Vermeulen and Laconi.

Honda mounted Vermeulen would retire at half race distance, following further mechanical woes, leaving the top three to decide the race and world championship.

Toseland would lead until Haga eventually passed the #52 in the closing stages of the 23 lap race, while Laconi - although always in touch with the top two - never rose above third and would slip away from the back of Toseland to finish 2.5secs adrift.

A clearly emotional Toseland has thus becomes the youngest ever WSBK champion, at 23-years-old, after finishing 9-points clear of Laconi at the end of the eleven round 2004 series.

Laconi took seven wins to Toseland's three, but the Frenchman but also suffered five DNFs to Toseland's three.

Meanwhile, Vermeulen's nightmare day has meant he has lost third in the championship to Noriyuki Haga. Haga finished 9-points behind Laconi and took six wins this season, but also suffered five non-point scores.

Full race two results to follow...

Race two top ten:
1. Haga
2. Toseland
3. Laconi
4. Gimbert
5. Chili
6. Haslam
7. Corser
8. Walker
9. McCoy
10. Nowland

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Toseland Wins World Championship, Laconi 2nd in title, Magny Cours WSBK,2004
Haga Leads, Toseland, Vermeulen, Laconi Magny Cours Race 2 WSBK, 2004
Start, Magny Cours Race 2 WSBK, 2004
Sofuoglu and Toseland, WSS Race, British WSBK 2016
Jacobsen, Sofuoglu Toseland and Krummenacher, WSS Race, British WSBK 2016
Toseland and Barrier, SSTK1000, British WSBK 2105
Toseland and Barrier, SSTK1000, British WSBK 2105
Giugliano Pole position takes award of Toseland, Qatar WSBK 2014 Qatar WSBK 2014
Baz 2nd place takes award from Toseland, Qatar WSBK 2014
Tom Sykes is awarded the RAC Torrens Trophy by James Toseland and Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club’s Motoring Committee [pic credit: LGM Photographic]
Toseland,  British WSBK 2013
Barrier, Toseland, SSTK1000 race1, British WSBK 2013
Guarnoni, Toseland, SSTK1000 race1, British WSBK 2013
La Marra, Toseland,SSTK1000 race1, British WSBK 2013
Toseland on the grid, SSTK1000 race1, British WSBK 2013
Toseland, Barrier, French SSTK 1000 Race 2012
Toseland, Barrier, French SSTK 1000 Race 2012
Toseland, Barrier, French SSTK 1000 Race 2012

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.