James Toseland fought off stiff competition from Troy Corser and Noriyuki Haga to win race one of the final round of the Corona Extra Superbike World Championship at Magny-Cours in France.

A jubilant Toseland came over the line punching the air; it was a three way battle all race long with no respite for the British rider. "My first win in Qatar was difficult and I've battled with Haga all year," said Toseland, "He never gives up and he passes you everywhere. It was a great race to give me my third win of the year."

Haga finished second to Toseland although he did take the lead on numerous occasions only to have Toseland haul it back off him. "I'am disappointed, I had not a bad start but at first corner I brake too late and lose position," commented Haga, "I push hard to catch up and arrive on top. Already my tyre was 75 percent finished, I try to push near the end but my tyre was finished. I am happy with second, I had good battle with James and Troy and second race will be more tough"

Related Articles

The final step of the podium went to Troy Corser who led early in the red flagged race. Red flags appeared after only one lap when oil was spilled on the track which subsequently caused Ivan Goi to crash. "Great battle, there wasn't much in it, I made a small mistake ?Ewe all did and that kept us together," admitted Corser, "It was lucky we had a re-start as I got better grip second time. I missed a gear at the hairpin a few times so I took it easy there as I didn't want to make a mistake and take anybody down. The tyres did a good job today; they lasted until the last five laps."

Magny-Cours always produces top notch racing and race one was no exception with the lead changing several times over one lap. Haga and Toseland were racing so close that they looked as thought they were touching.

There were a few crashes just to add to the excitement with Andrew Pitt, Karl Muggeridge, and Fonsi Nieto all falling out of contention.

WSBK race results (1) - Magny-Cours:

1. James Toseland
2. Noriyuki Haga
3. Troy Corser
4. Troy Bayliss
5. Yukio Kagayama
6. Chris Walker
7. Alex Barros
8. Lorenzo Lanzi
9. Regis Laconi
10. Shinichi Nakatomi