Toseland takes first win at Phillip Island.

James Toseland fended off tough competition from Troy Bayliss to secure his first win at Phillip Island and secure his championship lead at the second round of the Corona Extra Superbike World Championship.

The Hannspree Honda rider crossed the line just 0.24secs clear of the Xerox Ducati rider. The third step of the podium was occupied by Yamaha Italia's Noriyuki Haga.

As in race one it was Alstare Corona Extra's Max Biaggi who got away first but he was beaten up into turn one and dropped back to fifth place. The man who came out on top was Troy Corser, with Toseland and Bayliss chasing. Three laps later Toseland made his move and took the lead at the Southern Loop.

A further two laps on Bayliss passed Corser for second place leaving Corser to fight it out with his team-mate Haga. The action really kicked in on lap eleven with Haga moving up to third place and Bayliss briefly taking the lead. Bayliss then looked round and handed the lead back to Toseland.

The race for third place was now on with Biaggi up to third pushing the Yamahas back down the field. Haga took up his podium position on lap eighteen leaving Biaggi in fourth place. Corser put on a late but impressive charge, taking Biaggi for fourth place, only he ran wide into the dirt and lost out on what he had gained. Haga continued to fight with Biaggi to the line but got the better of him.

The second Ducati home after Bayliss was the Sterilgarda machine of Ruben Xaus who has been on strong form all weekend. He could be a force to be reckoned with as the season progresses.

WSBK race (2) results – Phillip Island:

1. James Toseland
2. Troy Bayliss
3. Noriyuki Haga
4. Max Biaggi
5. Troy Corser
6. Ruben Xaus
7. Lorenzo Lanzi
8. Michel Fabrizio
9. Max Neukirchner
10. Roberto Rolfo

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Toseland, Bayliss, Corser, Haga, Australian WSBK Race 2 2007
Nori Haga (JPN), Team Kagayama Suzuki [Credit: Suzuki]
Walters, Australian WSBK 2015
Metcher Australian WSBK 2015
Wagner Australian WSBK 2015
Lambert, WSS, Australian WSBK 2015
Phillis, WSS, Australian WSBK 2015
Scott, WSS, Australian WSBK 2015
Wagner, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Alex Phillis, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Glenn Scott, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Wagner, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Scott and Phillis, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Scott, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Phillis, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Michael van der Mark in action at Phillip Island on the Pata Honda
Buckmaster, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015
Zanetti, Cluzel, Gino Rea, WSS race, Australian WSBK 2015

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.