The Xerox Ducati rider lead from the off and was only headed once during the race and that was for a very brief moment on lap one when Noriyuki Haga took the lead for a few fleeting seconds.

Haga on the Yamaha Italia took second place following his DNF in race one when he crashed with Max Biaggi. The final step of the podium went to Haga's crash buddy, Biaggi who had to ride hard to secure the final step of the podium on his Alstare Corona Extra Suzuki.

Off the line it was Bayliss from Haga with Troy Corser in third place and James Toseland in fourth place. Michel Fabrizio's race was short lived when he went out with a technical problem on lap three. As in race one Toseland had Kagayama all over him and he soon succumbed to the Japanese rider.

Toseland was soon the target for Biaggi who slipped down the pack when he ran wide and had to rejoin the circuit. Kagayama shoved his way by Corser to take up his third place. On lap thirteen the fight was on between Toseland and Biaggi with the two swapping places, one lap later Biaggi made his move stick.

With the podium now in sight Biaggi continued his charge through the field picking off Corser on lap twenty one. He now just had to push his team-mate Kagayama out of the way to take the remaining podium position. He squeezed under Kagayama on the penultimate lap to obtain vital points for his championship chase.

WSBK race results (2) - Misano:

1. Troy Bayliss
2. Noriyuki Haga
3. Max Biaggi
4. Yukio Kagayama
5. Tory Corser
6. James Toseland
7. Ruben Xaus
8. Roberto Rolfo
9. Lorenzo Lanzi
10. Max Neukirchner