Bayliss took the lead immediately but had the usual suspects breathing down his neck from the off. Noriyuki Haga and his team-mate Troy Corser on the pair of Yamaha Italia machines were running in second and third respectively. Max Biaggi on the Alstare Corona Extra Suzuki was fourth with championship leader James Toseland on the Hannspree Ten Kate Honda in sixth place behind Regis Laconi on his PSG-1 Kawasaki.

On lap three Toseland made his move on Laconi to secure fifth place and started chasing the leading four who had already started to pull away. Lap five saw Italian rider, Michel Fabrizio go out with a technical problem with his DFX Treme Honda. On the same lap Corser made a move on his team-mate Haga to take up second place but that only lasted for two laps as Haga took it back and got on with the job of chasing down the race lead.

It was lap nine when Haga made his decisive move scything into the lead. Slightly further down the field it was Biaggi on the make trying to pass Corser but the tough Australian wasn't going to budge.

As the top four battled for the lead Toseland dropped off the pace and by mid race was 9secs back off the race leader. Corser made a mistake on lap fourteen allowing Biaggi to take his hard fought third place. Bayliss was all over the back of Haga and tried for the lead again on lap seventeen but Haga made himself as wide as possible and wouldn't let him through. He then ran wide while pushing hard letting Biaggi close up to the battle for the lead.

Further back Yukio Kagayama was closing in on Toseland and pushed by him on lap nineteen. Bayliss regained the lead on lap twenty one with Haga and Biaggi fighting it out for second. It was this battle that was to end in tears with Biaggi trying to fit underneath Haga, unfortunately they touched and crashed out on lap twenty two.

With Haga and Biaggi out of the race, Corser was promoted to second place with Kagayama third and Britain's James Toseland salvaging a fourth place finish.

WSBK race (1) results - Misano:

1. Troy Bayliss
2. Troy Corser
3. Yukio Kagayama
4. James Toseland
5. Roberto Rolfo
6. Lorenzo Lanzi
7. Regis Laconi
8. Ruben Xaus
9. Max Neukirchner
10. Jakub Smrz


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment