Haga wins to keep title hopes alive.

Back at the sharp end it was Corser from Haga with youngster Max Neukirchner giving chase and Bayliss slotting into fourth place. Neukirchner tried for second place but Haga wasn't having it and the determined Japanese rider soon took the lead from his team-mate.

Biaggi who also got tangled up in the turn one crash had rejoined the action in 13th whilst Toseland was running 17th. Biaggi ran wide in his efforts to get further up the standings and when he came back onto the racing line he was very lucky not to get taken out by Karl Muggeridge.

On lap four Neukirchner set a new lap record of 1min 39.844secs while Michel Fabrizio was hit with a ride through penalty for a jump start. By lap five Biaggi was tenth and Toseland eleventh. Haga had a bit of a moment but managed to hold it. Just three laps later and both Biaggi and Toseland were into the top ten.

Neukirchner was all over the back of Corser and was lining him up to try and take second place. He put a hard move on the tough Aussie forcing him to sit up mid corner. Corser wasn't letting him away with it and took his position back, while these two were dicing Bayliss was gradually closing down on them.

Ruben Xaus got caught up in the Biaggi –Toseland freight train as the pair of them sandwiched him through a corner pushing him back two places. By now Bayliss was getting impatient and shoved his way under Neukirchner physically bumping the German rider out of the way.

Bayliss now had Corser in his sights and it all kicked off on lap 19. the feuding Australians changed place four times, bashing elbows all the way, but it was Bayliss who came out on top.

Toseland came over the line in seventh place and now has 405 points, 17 clear of Haga who is second. Race two will decide the Championship.

WSBK race results (1) – Magny-Cours:

1. Noriyuki Haga
2. Troy Bayliss
3. Troy Corser
4. Max Neukirchner
5. Fonsi Nieto
6. Max Biaggi
7. James Toseland
8. Ruben Xaus
9. Regis Laconi
10. Roberto Rolfo

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Haga, France WSBK 2007
Bayliss, 170mph, France WSBK 2007
Corser, France WSBK 2007
Kagayama, Aegerter, Haga, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
HAga, Suzuki 8 hours, July 2014
Fogarty, Corser and Whitam, Donington WSBK 2014
Tom Sykes is awarded the RAC Torrens Trophy by James Toseland and Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club’s Motoring Committee [pic credit: LGM Photographic]
Neukirchner, WSB race1, Jerez WSBK 2013
Neukirchner, Jerez WSBK 2013
Neukirchner, Jerez WSBK 2013
Neukirchner, Jerez WSBK 2013
Neukirchner, Jerez WSBK 2013
Neukirchner, Jerez WSBK 2013
Neukirchner, Turkish WSB 2013
Neukirchner, Turkish WSB 2013
Neukirchner, Turkish WSB 2013
Neukirchner, Turkish WSB 2013
Neukirchner, Turkish WSB 2013

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.