Full World Supersport race results from Assen, round eight of the 2004 world championship...

Karl Muggeridge wins to extend his championship advantage after leading almost the entire race - but with Sebastien Charpentier, Andrew Pitt and Kevin Curtain in close pursuit.

Charpentier couldn't quite find a way past the Ten Kate Honda rider and would settle for second, while the battle for the final podium spot was decided in a final turn collision.

Curtain held third heading onto the last lap, but Pitt - making his WSS return after almost two-years in MotoGP -dived underneath his fellow Australian halfway around the high-speed circuit.

Curtain would then retake the position and the two would head into the final chicane separated by just a few bike lengths. Curtain held the inside line, while Pitt tried to outbrake him around the outside.

But Yamaha Italia rider Pitt simply appeared to brake too late and hit the back of Curtain's R6 at the apex, sending Kevin somersaulting through the gravel, while Pitt was also forced off track - but would stay on two-wheels to controversially claim the final podium position.

Full WSS race results:

1. Karl Muggeridge AUS Ten Kate Honda 34min 14.542 secs
2. Sebastien Charpentier FRA Team Klaffi Honda 34min 14.699 secs
3. Andrew Pitt AUS Yamaha Italia 34min 20.546 secs
4. Broc Parkes AUS Ten Kate Honda 34min 22.041 secs
5. Jurgen vd Goorbergh NED Yamaha Italia 34min 22.364 secs
6. Jan Hanson SWE Kobutex Honda 34min 38.359 secs
7. Max Neukirchner GER Team Klaffi Honda 34min 39.299 secs
8. Arie Vos NED Pajic Kawasaki 34min 40.947 secs
9. Christian Kellner GER Yamaha Motor Deutschland 34min 42.992 secs
10. Barry Veneman NED Team Suzuki Nederland 34min 51.046 secs
11. Kai Borre Andersen NOR Kawasaki Doc Shop Racing 34min 52.912 secs
12. Stefano Cruciani ITA Kawasaki Bertocci 34min 53.422 secs
13. Stephane Chambon FRA Alstare Corona Suzuki 34min 56.947 secs
14. Matthieu Lagrieve ITA Moto 1 Suzuki 34min 57.146 secs
15. Matteo Baiocco ITA Lorenzini by Leoni Yamaha 34min 57.792 secs
16. Iain MacPherson GBR SL Racing Ducati 35min 9.193 secs
17. Denis Sacchetti ITA Italia Megabike Honda 35min 9.413 secs
18. Roman Stamm SWI Suzuki Swiss 35min 29.223 secs
19. Sebastien Le Grelle GER Le Grelle Honda 36min 1.675 secs
20. Lorenzo Lanzi JPN Ducati Breil 34min 47.05 secs

Kevin Curtain AUS Yamaha Motor Deutschland 32min 6.935 secs
Fabien Foret FRA Yamaha Italia 23min 34.854 secs
Ivan Silva SPA IRT Honda Israel 24min 27.881 secs
Andrea Berta ITA Biassono Racing Honda 20min 9.488 secs
Tobias Kirmeier GER Alpha Technik Honda 15min 14.717 secs
Katsuaki Fujiwara JPN Alstare Corona Suzuki 13min 33.36 secs
Jarno Janssen NED Team Suzuki Nederland 11min 1.441 secs
Werner Daemen GER Alpha Technik Honda 8min 44.326 secs
Vittorio Iannuzzo ITA Alstare Corona Suzuki 6min 39.02 secs
Jeroen Turkstra NED Koerhuls Honda 2min 21.803 secs