WSS » DSQ'd Sofuoglu: I wouldn’t have finished anyway


Kenan Sofuoglu brushes off his disqualification from the Imola round of the World Supersport Championship, claiming he wouldn't have made it to the finish anyway.

Sort Comments: Oldest | Newest

Glynn Jones - Unregistered

April 03, 2012 3:14 PM

Can anyone tell me who thought of the stupid rule of the ride through penalty, it completly spoils the race for the spectators and god knows how the riders feelif you must penalise them give them a 5 second/10 second penalty at least they could still race properly for us the teams and sponsors i hope you enthusiasts agree with me

arron - Unregistered

April 03, 2012 3:28 PM

@Glynn
the issue with a 5 or 10 second penalty is that the rider concerned is racing out of position and as such can end up changing the true result because they interfere with other riders progress

pcxmac - Unregistered

April 03, 2012 3:43 PM

It was really hard to see Kenan not be able to turn his bike through that chicane, I was thinking OMG no, he must have some sort of problem with his bike, if it was his leg, it makes too much sense, hopefully he gets better soon, so he can work those slow speed changes of direction.

Boo - Unregistered

April 03, 2012 3:57 PM

The issue wasn't that he cut the chicane per se, more that he didn't return to the circuit in the correct manner (a la Biaggi at Monza last year).

Definitely very harsh, mostly because at that speed you can't really stop or turn on the gravel, but I think it is designed to stop riders taking an easy route, maintaining speed and risking falling in the path of other riders.

It's a bit of a difficult corner, so perhaps they could consider amending the run off area a bit next year.

pcxmac - Unregistered

April 03, 2012 8:01 PM

the last chicane is more of a gimmicky hazard anyways, how many times has someone run off and narrowly missed being hit by someone coming out of the last turn? How about Imola improve the walls and expand out certain parts of the track so riders dont hit walls at 200 kph.

Stephen - Unregistered

April 04, 2012 7:42 PM

i watched the race and that incident and he definitely gave up his time by letting other riders pass him waiving his arm out. I think that rule isnt necessary once the mistake has been acknowledge. Even the commentators didnt think the ride through penalty was necessary after he gave up his position.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.