Performance Technical Racing could run six bikes in next season's World Supersport Championship having already confirmed five riders for its 2012 campaign.

An unchanged line-up of Sam Lowes and Miguel Praia is set to head up PTR's front-running Parkalgar squad, while Martin Jessopp, PJ Jacobsen and Mathew Scholtz have also signed on to compete under the PTR banner.

Explaining the decision to expand as down to the single-bike rule that was introduced for 2011 - a move that was attributed to the significant increase in grid numbers last season - team manager Simon Buckmaster is delighted to be championing new talent.

"Obviously we could not do this (expand the team again) if you had two bikes per rider, so that rule allowed us not only to compete but to expand last year and again this year. It looks like there will be a lot of bikes on the grid in 2012 but only two years ago it was a lot less, about 18 to 20 bikes on the grid.

"We can get five or even six bikes and spares into our race truck each weekend, because our team is organised and we make good use of the available space, meaning we do not have to take a second truck."

"We ran quite a few riders last year, and this coming year we will be even more properly geared up to do it. We have some very talented riders, some younger ones of course, and Sam Lowes is set to be a good championship challenger in his second year."

As well as the Parkalgar team, PTR ran bikes for James Ellison and Pawel Szkopek in 2011, as well as an occasionally PTR Romania entry for Robert Muresan and Catalin Cazacu.