Cluzel resist Kawasakis for Aragon pole

Jules Cluzel denies Sheridan Morais his first World Supersport Championship pole position in a tight qualifying session at Motorland Aragon.
CLICK HERE to view full Q2 times

Jules Cluzel has taken his second World Supersport Championship pole position of the season after prevailing in a hard fought second qualifying session at Motorland Aragon.

The Frenchman came into Q2 having been second during provisional qualifying behind Sam Lowes, but struck to the front for the first time with 20mins remaining courtesy of a 2min 02.867secs lap.

Good enough to hold position for the next 15mins, Cluzel was bumped down to second place with just five minutes remaining by an inspired Sheridan Morais, the South African surging the front by two tenths to put himself on course for a maiden WSS pole position.

However, Cluzel hadn't given up, the PTR Honda rider squeezing back ahead by just four hundredths of a second to deny the WSS rookie.

A strong return to form for Kawasaki having played second fiddle to Honda during Q1, Morais's DeltaFin team-mate Kenan Sofuoglu and Fabien Foret on the privateer Intermoto Step ZX-6R will start alongside Morais on the front row in third and fourth.

A close session, just two tenths would cover the top six, with provisional pole sitter Sam Lowes and Broc Parkes finding themselves at the wrong end of a meagre margin in fifth and sixth place respectively. Indeed, Lowes had looked on course to get on the front row with his final flying lap, only to suffer a fall at turn twelve.

They will share row two with top Triumph rider Vittorio Iannuzzo, who made a big jump in the closing stages, and Jed Metcher, the Australian continuing his impressive progress on the little fancied RivaMoto Yamaha to qualify a career-best eighth.

Similarly impressive was Metcher's former SSTK 600 rival Romain Lanusse, the Frenchman on the Intermoto Step Kawasaki leaping from a provisional 21st to qualify a fine ninth place.

Mathew Scholtz rounds out the top ten on the Bogdanka PTR Honda, denying Ronan Quarmby, Alex Baldolini, Valentin Debise, Josh Day and Roberto Tamburini.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Cluzel, Spanish WSS 2012
Cluzel, Spanish WSS 2012
Cluzel, Spanish WSS 2012
Cluzel, Spanish WSS 2012
Cluzel, Spanish WSS 2012
Lukas Trautmann, Superstock 1000, Yamaha [Credit: WSBK - Toni Borner]
Kyle Smith on the Pata Honda at Phillip Island
Kyle Smith on the Pata Honda at Phillip Island
Kieran Clarke will return to the World Supersport Championship in 2015 with PTR in the CIA Insurance Honda team
Kyle Smith - PATA Honda
Pata Honda`s Michael van der Mark celebrates podium finish at Phillip Island
Pata Honda`s Michael van der Mark during testing at Phillip Island
New PTR Honda signing Matt Davies
Austria`s David Linortner has joined PTR Honda for 2013 World Supersport Championship
Fabien Foret, Ten Kate Honda
Vittorio Iannuzzo
[L-R]: Chaz Davies, Luca Scassa and Gino Rea, Donington Park WSS podium, 2011 [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Sam Lowes, Parkalgar Honda, Donington Park WSS, 2011 [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.