Leader van der Mark sets early Misano pace

Fresh from his World Supersport lead-extending win in Malaysia, Michael van der Mark kicks off the Misano round with the top time in FP1.
CLICK HERE to view full WSS FP1 results

Michael van der Mark has picked up where he left off from his race win in Malaysia as he set the World Supersport pace n first free practice around the Marco Simoncelli World Circuit at Misano.

The Dutchman, who is competing on Supersport machinery at Misano for the first time this weekend, was quickly up to speed as he headed the timesheets with 15mins of the session remaining, the series leader leading the way by just over a tenth from Kenan Sofuoglu.

Racing without assistance from Yakhnich Motorsport this weekend following the revelation that the Russian team has exited its partnership with the manufacturer, MV Agusta put that behind them to go third quickest with title challenger Jules Cluzel, while new signing – the experienced Massimo Roccoli – was a fine eighth quickest on his first outing aboard the F3.

A strong session for the series' leading contenders, Florian Marino was fourth best on the Intermoto Kawasaki, while Kev Coghlan rounded out the top five despite suffering a fall.

Raffaele de Rosa, Jack Kennedy and Ratthapark Wilairot were sixth, seventh and ninth respectively, the PTR Honda crowding Roccoli, while local favourite Lorenzo Zanetti completed the top ten despite his own get-off.

As well as changes at MV Agusta, this weekend sees Lorini Honda display an expanded and revised three rider line-up, following Riccardo Russo's move into WSBK with Pedercini Kawasaki, with Marco Bussolotti being joined by Luca Marconi and Ferruccio Lamborghini.

However, it was a disappointing start to the weekend for Lorini with both Lamborghini and Marconi crashing early on to bring out a red flag, while Bussolotti would crash towards the end of the session and was taken to the medical centre for checks.

Further changes this weekend include Valentin Debise rejoining SMS Com Plus Honda in place for the out-of-favour Fraser Rogers, while Alex Baldolini is riding the ATK MV Agusta.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
VD Mark, WSS race, Malaysian WSBK 2014
VD MArk, WSS race, Malaysian WSBK 2014
VD Mark, WSS, Malaysian WSBK 2014
VD Mark, WSS, Malaysian WSBK 2014
VD Mark, WSS, Malaysian WSBK 2014
Kenan Sofuoglu, World Supersport [Credit: Kenan Sofuoglu]
Kenan Sofuoglu, World Supersport [Credit: Kenan Sofuoglu]
Kyle Smith on the Pata Honda at Phillip Island
Kyle Smith on the Pata Honda at Phillip Island
Kieran Clarke will return to the World Supersport Championship in 2015 with PTR in the CIA Insurance Honda team
Kyle Smith - PATA Honda
Pata Honda`s Michael van der Mark celebrates podium finish at Phillip Island
Pata Honda`s Michael van der Mark during testing at Phillip Island
New PTR Honda signing Matt Davies
Austria`s David Linortner has joined PTR Honda for 2013 World Supersport Championship
Alex Baldolini will ride for the Power Team by Suriano in the 2012 World Supersport Championship
Fabien Foret, Ten Kate Honda
Sam Lowes, Parkalgar Honda, Donington Park WSS, 2011 [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.