CLICK HERE to view full WSS Race results

  • Michael van der Mark thrills the home fans with a dominant first WSS victory
  • The Dutchman takes the lead early on and simply cruises to victory to the delight of huge crowds
  • Sofuoglu suffers a technical DNF, with second place Marino now leading championship

Michael van der Mark has sealed a long-awaited first World Supersport Championship win in ultimate style after thrilling the huge home crowds at Assen with a dominant performance.

Having already helped attract a substantial crowd to the stands this year having impressed during his short time in World Supersport, van der Mark would not disappoint in his quest to break his victory duck in the ideal setting.

Indeed, the manner of his win would prove particularly impressive, benefiting from early leader Kenan Sofuoglu's error on lap two to move into a lead he would simply increase all the way to the chequered flag.

Related Articles

A first win for the Ten Kate Racing-prepared PATA Honda team since 2011, van der Mark would come across the line more than nine seconds ahead of Florian Marino.

Despite being overshadowed by van der Mark, Marino enjoyed a strong weekend in all having already started from pole position for the first time, while his run to a solid second place means he heads overall standings now.

Sofuoglu, meanwhile, suffered a major set-back in his quest for a fourth WSS title as technical issues would go on to sideline him mid-way through the race.

Instead, Jules Cluzel would capitalise to fill the final podium spot, the Frenchman prevailing in an intense race-long battle with Lorenzo Zanetti and Kev Coghlan to give MV Agusta a second podium of the year.

Behind him, Zanetti and erstwhile championship leader Coghlan would take their battle to the final lap, with the Scot getting the edge over the Italian to finish ahead for Yamaha, thus making it four manufacturers inside the top four.

Charging up from 14th on the grid, Roberto Rolfo turned in his best performance of the season to finish sixth for GO Eleven Kawasaki, ahead of countrymen Roberto Tamburini and Raffaele de Rosa, the latter saving some blushes for the PTR CIA Insurance Honda team after Jack Kennedy - who ran third early on - crashed out.

PJ Jacobsen and Kevin Wahr rounded out the top ten positions, with the remainder of the points going the way of Marco Bussolotti, Vladimir Leonov, Ratthapark Wilairot, Riccardo Russo and Fabio Menghi.