Yvan Muller wins first Imola race.

SEAT Sport's Yvan Muller took the first race win World Touring Car Championship race win at Imola having overtaken his team-mate and pole sitter Rickard Rydell into the first corner.

Following this move the pair led the whole race, although Rydell had to defend his position from the Chevrolet cars. Robert Huff came up to third after having a strong start and jumping ahead of his team-mate Alain Menu.

“It was an important win for the championship, but it is still not enough as we must keep trying,” Muller said. “The qualifying and start were important – we knew whoever went into the first corner first should win. I had to drive fast and not make any mistakes as the Chevrolet cars were pushing us. Our tyres were not an issue in the race, but the brakes were, and with the other cars pushing we had to driver well out of the corners. We drove as one effort today as we had agreed not to fight with one another, I believe we may not have won had we not helped each other.”

However James Thompson produced a fine drive after he fell back from fifth to eighth at the start, but then started battling his way back up the order.

First on his list were the BMWs of Jörg Müller and Augusto Farfus, then he put in a brilliant move to take Nicola Larini at Rivazza 1, and soon after that Gabriele Tarquini. His most controversial move was on Alain Menu, with the pair clashing braking into Tamburello and the contact sent the Chevrolet driver into a spin, and into the gravel trap. Thompson's last move was in the final lap when he overtook Huff; his fellow countryman desperately defended the final podium position, but it was to no avail and Thompson finished a remarkable race on the podium.

“The podium place is a testament to the team never giving up – I am overjoyed for them,” the Briton admitted. “I am disappointed that we had the incident going into the first corner, which meant I went down the field. However I overtook a few cars and was able to recover my race. I enjoy fighting during races, but the incident with Menu was quite bad – he was protecting Huff and so did not want to let me through, knowing I was probably faster. We are one of the fastest cars, and although we lost out in qualifying due to tyres we made up for it today, I am overjoyed.”

Huff settled for fourth and some vital Championship points, ahead of Tarquini and his team mate Larini. Farfus and Müller took seventh and eighth positions respectively and they will start from the front row for race two.

Sergio Hernández began the Independents' race from pole position, and remained there, taking the win. However he also finished a brilliant ninth overall, ahead of several factory cars including Porteiro, Priaulx and Zanardi.

Behind the top ten drivers there were some competitive fights for the positions throughout the race. Priaulx and Gené had a few scuffles, before Coronel got involved. The Dutchman overtook Gené, and then tried to jump over the kerb to take Priaulx. Later in the race Gené had more problems as D'Aste fought with him for seventeenth position. Zanardi and Monteiro had a clash in the last lap while fighting for the ninth place.

Okyay failed to finish the race, as he had to abandon the car on the side of the racetrack, while LADA drivers Ladygin and Shapovalov were stopped by technical failures.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yvan Muller - SEAT Sport SEAT Leon TDI [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Mehdi Bennani - Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen
Mehdi Bennani - Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC]
Thed Bjork - Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo S60

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.