FIA approves `09 calendar.

The latest meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council has approved a twelve round schedule for the 2009 World Touring Car Championship season.

The season will once again comprise 24 races with two changes made to the calendar from the current campaign.

Morocco will host an event for the first time on a new street circuit in Marrakech, although the race is subject to homologation of the circuit by the FIA. The Moroccan race takes the place of one of the two Italian rounds, with Imola making way having only been a late addition to the 2008 schedule after the Anderstorp round was cancelled.

The other change sees the Portuguese race go back to the streets of Porto, where the race was held back in 2007. Under the terms of the agreement to run the race, Porto can only host an event every other year.

Because the date of the Belgian Formula One Grand Prix has been moved to August 30, and is now in clash with the WTCC event in Germany, series organisers KSO and the Motorsport Arena Oschersleben are working together to move the meeting to early September.

2009 WTCC Calendar:

March 8 Brazil Curitiba
March 22 Mexico Puebla
May 2 Morocco Marrakech *
May 17 France Pau
May 31 Spain Valencia
June 21 Czech Republic Brno
July 5 Portugal Porto *
July 19 Great Britain Brands Hatch
August 30 Germany Oschersleben
October 4 Italy Monza
October 25 Japan Okayama
November 22 Macau Macau

* subject to the FIA homologation of the circuit

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Andy Priaulx - BMW Team UK BMW 320si [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.