Muller, SEAT crowned at awards gala.

Yvan Muller and SEAT have been officially crowned the FIA World Touring Car Champions during an awards event held at Monaco.

A first WTCC title for both Muller and the Spanish manufacturer, the Frenchman took the title after three race wins and nine podiums. SEAT's five-strong driver line-up, meanwhile, scored 11 wins and 28 podiums to aid them towards the manufacturers' crown.

Coming a year after Muller was denied the 2007 title when he broke down shortly before the end of the final race, he was delighted to have responded in the most comprehensive way possible.

“One year ago in Macau I was very sad but now I am on top of the world. When you lose a world championship on the last lap because of a technical failure you remember it for weeks and months. When you win, you forget quickly, but I shall remember this for a long time.

“You have to do your best to win a world championship, but at the same time you have to have a great team to give you that opportunity. SEAT Sport gave me that opportunity. I also have to say thank you to my mechanics and to all my team mates, because we all progressed together and worked together during the season.”

Although SEAT courted considerable controversy in 2008 when they were accused of having an unfair advantage with the diesel-powered Leon hatchback, sport director Jaime Puig insists their decision to invest in the TDI was necessary to take them forward.

“It has been a fantastic season. We have a great team. I think sometimes when you do something different to the others you may win. And this was the case with SEAT when we decided to switch to the turbo diesel engine during the 2008 season. And we are proud to be the first car manufacturer to become world champion with a diesel car.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yvan Muller - SEAT Sport Leon TDi [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.