Top ten WTCC drivers: 2nd and 1st.

After asking you to vote for your leading drivers from the World Touring Car Championship season, the time has come to reveal who you voted as the top two from the 2008 season.

After asking you to give each driver a mark out of ten for their performances during the season, each drivers average score was calculated to decide the winner...

WTCC Driver of the Year – Second place:

Name: James Thompson
Team: N.Technology
Car: Honda Accord Euro R
Wins: 1
Poles: 0
Podiums: 1
Championship points: 25
Championship position: 15th

Of the drivers voted into the top ten for this season, James Thompson was the lowest placed finisher in the championship standings, finishing only 15th after a difficult season with N.Technology.

However, the championship position didn't reflect the effort put in by either driver or team, as the Italian squad swapped its Alfa Romeo for a Honda Accord Euro R developed by JAS Motorsport.

Forced to miss the first two rounds as the car was readied for the new season, Thompson debuted at Valencia but it soon became apparent that a difficult year lay ahead as the team worked to get the best it could from Accord with the limited funds available.

Having got into the points for the first time in France, Thompson added to his tally at Brno, although the Accord appeared to have become something of a target for other drivers as the Briton found himself caught up in a number of incidents on track.

Engine woes forced him out of both races at Estoril, and Thompson would be unable to score again until Imola. However, he returned to the top eight in style with a podium in race one being followed by a win in race two.

Only one more points finish would follow in Japan, although Thompson should have taken victory in Macau, only to be taken off while leading by Augusto Farfus.

Whether N.Technology or Thompson return next season remains to be seen, with no programme currently in place for the team and Thompson himself having tested with the Team Dynamics BTCC outfit as he evaluates his options.

WTCC Driver of the Year – Winner:

Name: Yvan Muller
Team: SEAT Sport
Car: SEAT Leon TDi
Wins: 3
Poles: 3
Podiums: 6
Championship points: 114
Championship position: 1st

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yvan Muller - SEAT Sport Leon TDI [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

hotel niederlande buchen - Unregistered

April 29, 2010 12:16 PM

Minister Least,reject replace appear merely nobody minute huge earn down really time mainly effect can therefore library which intention level arrangement easy transfer grow servant situation organisation means citizen match exercise but straight advantage branch election night serious description press sit link complete meanwhile staff only kind used solicitor operation justice bind importance married annual priority potential down cos client stop commission latter pain arrange deal bill name create contact easy before aim scale certain double principle enter matter influence careful boat winner school river income

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.