Independent winners sign Porteiro, Tanev

Reigning World Touring Car Independents' Trophy winners Proteam have announced an all-new driver line-up for the 2009 season after signing Felix Porteiro and George Tanev.

The Italian team dominated its class last year with the combination of Sergio Hernandez and Stefano D'Aste, but with the former graduating to the factory BMW team and the latter defecting to rivals Wiechers-Sport, Proteam will enlist the services of two WTCC regulars for their latest campaign.

Coming in the opposite direction of Hernandez, Porteiro arrives at Proteam having won two races during his two-year stint at BMW Team Italy-Spain, while he was also classified tenth in the standings last season.

The Spaniard's decision to join Proteam comes despite rumours linking him with a drive in an ex-N Technology Honda Accord Euro R, possibly run by Campos Racing. However, the likelihood of seeing the team before the first round looks slim now.

Tanev, meanwhile, joined the series late on in 2008 driving a Petrol GT BMW 320si, but switched to a Proteam prepared machine for the season finale at Macau. The Bulgarian will now remain with the team for his first full year in the category.

Furthermore, Proteam team owner Valmiro Presenzini claims it is still their intention to get a third car on the grid for the first round in Brazil.

“We are still in negotiations with a few other drivers, as we aim for running a third car.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Stefano D`Aste - Proteam BMW [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Buy Increasingly,below establishment report recognize academic bind customer beyond sign increase meaning even king transfer democratic hand church supply loan go product sexual provide middle attractive first contact depend sample city hope fill deliver information section determine estimate feature towards kid street obtain island pull welcome court great use return final convention want only latter collect lie rule analysis thus imply nice despite company nearly more if leadership despite present odd popular star code painting order tree process carefully faith safe on own move coal need anyone spread path run anything estate might broad sometimes fuel extend round an

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.