Engstler targets Indy crown

Team Engstler has launched its 2009 World Touring Car Championship programme, with the focus firmly on securing honours in the Independents' Trophy.

Team boss Franz Engstler finished second in the Independents' title race last year behind Sergio Hernandez and will be joined this season by Kristian Poulsen, who will take on a full-season assault on the WTCC after running a selected programme last year.

However, despite a solid debut year for the BMW outfit in 2008 and the addition of Poulsen to the line-up, team manager Kurt Treml admitted that the pressure to succeed this year will be higher than ever.

“The pressure is growing after the good results we achieved in 2008,” he said. “However, there are so many factors which make a team successful, and the field of the competitors is so strong that we know we'll have to fight hard to succeed.”

The team will benefit from backing from Liqui Moly once again in 2009 and Engstler said the continued support from the team's title sponsor would be important during the year ahead.

“Three main pillars are at the basis of success: team's competence, technology and sponsors,” he said. “That's why we have to thank Liqui Moly for trusting us and exploiting this participation in the World Championship as an important marketing tool.

“I am glad that Kristian joined us. We understand each other very well and I'm sure we can mutually support ourselves.”

Aside from the WTCC programme, the team will also continue to compete in the German ADAC Procar series, running two cars for Roland Hertner and Remo Friberg.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Franz Engstler - Engstler Motorsport BMW 320si [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.