The calendar for the 2010 World Touring Car Championship season has been announced following the latest meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris on Wednesday (June 24).

The schedule will again comprise twelve events, with the main change being the return of Belgium, at the expense of the event at Pau in France.

Zolder will host the fifth event of the year, following on from Brazil, which again opens proceedings, and then Mexico, Morocco and Italy.

The Italian event has been shifted to May, having previously taken place in October at Imola. The venue is listed as 'to be confirmed'. With Italy moving forward in the year, Spain's event effectively swaps places and will now run on September 19.

The only other alterations concern the round in the Czech Republic, which moves from June to August, and the event in Portugal, which as normal swaps venues from year to year and will be held at the Algarve circuit.

In a separate development meanwhile Yokohama has won the tender to be the single tyre supplier in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

The full calendar for 2010 is listed below, the 2009 one is shown below it for easy comparison:

2010 WTCC Calendar:

March 7 Brazil Curitiba
April 11 Mexico Puebla
May 16 Morocco Marrakech
May 30 Italy TBA**
June 20 Belgium Zolder
July 4 Portugal Algarve
July 18 Britain Brands Hatch
August 1 Czech Republic Brno
September 5 Germany Oschersleben
September 19 Spain Valencia*
October 31 Japan Okayama
November 21 Macau Macau

* subject to the agreement of the ASN concerned
** the name of the event will be confirmed in due course

2009 WTCC Calendar:

March 8 Brazil Curitiba
March 22 Mexico Puebla
May 3 Morocco Marrakech
May 17 France Pau
May 31 Spain Valencia
June 21 Czech Republic Brno
July 5 Portugal Porto
July 19 Britain Brands Hatch
September 6 Germany Oschersleben
September 20 Italy Imola
November 1 Japan Okayama
November 22 Macau Macau


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment