Muller returns for ROC

Reigning World Touring Car Champion Yvan Muller is the latest driver to be confirmed for The Race of Champions 2009, which takes place in Beijing on November 2-4.

Muller, a teb-time winner of the Andros Trophy ice racing series, claimed his first WTCC title in 2008 and currently lies second in the WTCC points standings with two events to go. After racing in Japan on Sunday 1 November, the Frenchman will fly to China's Bird's Nest Stadium, where he'll compete against stars from the world of Formula 1, Le Mans, touring cars and more.

“It is going to be a great experience to compete in China,” said Muller. “I have raced in The Race of Champions many times, and it's always a lot of fun with the crowd so close to the action.

“The Bird's Nest is a fantastic stadium, and I'm told the circuit is faster and longer than before, so I am looking forward to it.”

Muller will be teamed up with another, still-to-be-confirmed French driver as the pair aim to win The ROC Nations Cup title on Tuesday 3 November, before going for individual glory in The Race of Champions on Wednesday 4 November. Muller was part of the winning team when France won the ROC Nations Cup in 2000.

“Yvan is a fantastic driver and whether he's racing touring cars or driving on ice, he proves that he has superb car control,” added Fredrik Johnsson of event organisers IMP.

“Watching people like him showing what they can do in some spectacular cars in a great stadium like the Bird's Nest is what The Race of Champions is all about.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yvan Muller (FRA), Race Day, Race of Champions, Wembley, 16th December, 2007
Yvan Muller (FRA), Race Day, Race of Champions, Wembley, 16th December, 2007
Yvan Muller - SEAT Sport Leon TDI [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Yvan Muller takes pole in Brazil
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing
Ma Qing Hua - Citroen Racing
WTCC, grid line-up, [Credit: XPB]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller (FRA), Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing
Tiago Monteiro (POR), Castrol Honda WTCC, WTCC [Credit: Honda]
Sebastien Loeb (FRA), Citroen Racing, WTCC, [Credit: WTCC]
Japp van Lagen (NED), Lada Sport, WTCC [Credit: LADA Sport]
Jose Maria Lopez (ARG), Citroen Racing [Credit: WTCC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.