The FIA European Touring Car Cup will change format from next year, switching from a one-off event at the end of the season to a four-event series.

The new format has been approved by the FIA World Motor Sport Council, as well as the 2010 calendar.

"A series of four events will help to cover the whole European territory, making it easier for the teams to take part in all or selected events. The aim is also to strengthen the ties between the National Championships that adopt the FIA technical regulations," KSO general manager Marcello Lotti explained.

Related Articles

Each meeting will include two 50 kilometre races, for a total of eight rounds awarding points.

The cars eligible to take part will remain the same as those that are currently accepted, namely Super 2000, Super 1600 and Super Production. A 400,000 Euro prize money will be awarded to the competitors.

The 2010 FIA European Touring Car Cup calendar is as follows*:

28 March Portugal
6 June Germany
11 July Austria
17 October Italy

* The names of the racetracks will be communicated during the FIA World Touring Car Championship event in Macau later this month.