SEAT has confirmed that it is to withdraw from the World Touring Car Championship for the 2010 season.

Having secured championship honours in both 2008 and 2009 with Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini, SEAT has now taken the decision to withdraw its work team from the WTCC - although it will continue to support customer outfits in the series running both the diesel and petrol powered Leon.

SEAT will also focus on the SEAT Leon Eurocup and the Supercopa SEAT Leon.

"After achieving all possible successes with our team in the WTCC, we are now going to focus all our efforts on customer sports in different championships, such as the WTCC, the Eurocup or the Supercopa SEAT Leon, which will be enjoying a new boost this year with editions in more countries," SEAT Sport director Jaime Puig said.

"We are always eager to win when a SEAT is on the track and to do so, SEAT Sport will provide all of our customers with the necessary technical support."

SEAT's decision comes after BMW downsized its WTCC entry from six works cars to just two for the 2010 season and means just five works cars are currently entered for the new campaign - with Chevrolet again fielding three cars.

LADA has yet to confirm its plans for the season ahead.