The World Touring Car Championship entry list for the 2010 season has been revealed, featuring 20 cars confirmed for the season.

Just five factory cars feature on the entry list, with SEAT and LADA having withdrawn from the championship and BMW having downsized to just two cars.

Despite SEAT's withdrawal, no fewer than six Leon TDis feature on the entry list, with five to be run by SUNRED Engineering - four under the SR-Sport banner, including defending champion Gabriele Tarquini. Zengo-Dension also run a Leon TDi while a lone petrol-powered car is entered by the Colak Racing team.

Chevrolet's three factory cars - for Yvan Muller, Rob Huff and Alain Menu - are joined by the privateer Lacettis of bamboo engineering, while the remainder of the field is made up of teams running the BMW 320si - heading by Augusto Farfus and Andy Priaulx in the RBM-run factory team.

"We are proud that we managed to maintain a high quality field in this challenging economic environment," series promoter Marcello Lotti said. "Most of our regular drivers and teams are still with us, which guarantees continuity in the growth of the championship's popularity. We are grateful to BMW and Chevrolet who renewed their trust in the championship confirming their factory programmes. And we also thank SEAT because, although no longer competing with an official team, the brand made a big effort to guarantee a strong representation of customers teams that will be provided by SEAT Sport with the necessary technical support.

"It is very rewarding for us to see young drivers and teams joining the championship. The new entries from bamboo-engineering and Zengo-Dension Team, the arrival of promising youngsters like Michelisz and Vaulkhard and the full commitment of drivers coming from new regions - Bennani from Morocco and O'Young from China - are testament to the WTCC's worldwide reputation."

LADA's decision to leave the series comes with the Russian manufacturer having been hit hard by the economic downturn, but it could now face sanctions from the FIA having previously signed a three-year agreement to compete in the WTCC.

"We were surprised and disappointed, because in 2009 they undertook a commitment for a three-year programme," Lotti added. "This is now a matter for the FIA to deal with."

World Touring Car Championship entry list:

Gabriele Tarquini SR-Sport SEAT Leon TDi Tom Coronel SR-Sport SEAT Leon TDi Tiago Monteiro SR-Sport SEAT Leon TDi Jordi Gene SR-Sport SEAT Leon TDi Norbert Michelisz Zengo-Dension Team SEAT Leon TDi Yvan Muller Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze Rob Huff Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze Alain Menu Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze Augusto Farfus BMW Team RBM BMW 320si Andy Priaulx BMW Team RBM BMW 320si Franz Engstler Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320si Andrei Romanov Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320si Michel Nykjaer SUNRED Engineering SEAT Leon TDi Harry Vaulkhard bamboo engineering Chevrolet Lacetti Darryl O'Young bamboo engineering Chevrolet Lacetti Mehdi Bennani Wiechers-Sport BMW 320si Marin Colak Colak Racing SEAT Leon TFSI Kristian Poulsen Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si Sergio Hernandez Proteam Motorsport BMW 320si Stefano D'Aste Proteam Motorsport BMW 320si