Augusto Farfus has taken BMW's first pole of the year after leading the way in qualifying at Monza.

The Brazilian set a time of 2min 00.672secs which was good enough to edge Rob Huff for pole while Farfus' BMW team-mate Andy Priaulx was third. Norbert Michelisz was top rookie in eighth, with Darryl O'Young leading the Independents in twelfth.

With the top three drivers all setting their times in the early stages of Q2, it was left to Alain Menu to secure fourth on the grid ahead of Yvan Muller with Jordi Gene the quickest SEAT in sixth.

Gabriele Tarquini was seventh fastest ahead of Michelisz with Fredy Barth and Tiago Monteiro.

Michel Nykjaer just missed out on a slot in Q2 at the wheel of his SEAT and lines up eleventh ahead of O'Young and Tom Cornel - who was the big casualty of the first stage of qualifying and managed just one flying lap en-route to twelfth on the grid.

Chevrolet guest driver Leonel Pernia was 15th quickest.