Yvan Muller picked up victory in the second World Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Monza after more drama on the final lap of the race.

The Chevrolet driver looked like being forced to settle for second place in the race behind the SEAT of Michel Nykjaer but the Dane was denied his maiden WTCC success on the final lap when he suffered a front-left puncture - the same problem that had hit Gabriele Tarquini and Rob Huff in race one - exiting Curva Grande.

Unlike the pair in race one, there was too far left for Nykjaer to try and nurse the car to the finish and he was left to park up and reflect on his missed opportunity.

Nykjaer's apparent run to victory was aided by a drive-through penalty for Tarquini who had led the race before being hauled into the pits for jumping the start. The defending champion would later retire from the race.

Behind Muller, Tom Coronel took second place to cap a good end to what looked like being a frustrating weekend after his issues in qualifying while Huff made it two podium finishes with third place.

Augusto Farfus picked up fourth place for BMW ahead of race one winner Andy Priaulx while SEAT drivers Jordi Gene, Tiago Monteiro and Norbert Michelisz filled places six through to ten.

Chevrolet pair Alain Menu and Leonel Pernia completed the top ten while Independent honours went to Stefano D'Aste ahead of bamboo engineering duo Darryl O'Young and Harry Vaulkhard.