Yokohama has confirmed that it will once again provide a prize fund of EUR480,000 for independent drivers competing in the World Touring Car Championship in 2013.

The fund will see prize money handed out on a race-by-race basis during the new season, rather than on an event-by-event basis as was the case in the past.

In total, EUR20,000 will be on offer at each of the 24 races during the season to the top six independent drivers on the following sliding scale:

1 - EUR6,000
2 - EUR5,000
3 - EUR4,000
4 - EUR2,500
5 - EUR1,500
6 - EUR1,000

The points system will be unchanged, with points awarded on a 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis to the top eight finishers, with double points on offer during the season finale in Macau.

Bonus points will then be awarded for the best independent driver in qualifying and to the driver who posts the quickest lap in a race.

Norbert Michelisz won the Independents' Trophy in 2012, despite failing to score in the final three races of the year.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment