WTCC form book: Marrakech

A look at the WTCC stats for Marrakech

The second round of the 2013 FIA WTCC rolls into Marrakech for the Race of Morocco this weekend. The tight, tough and technical street circuit plays host to the African countries fourth WTCC race weekend, since its inaugural year in 2009.

With Yvan Muller again looking like the man to beat, after quite literally swimming off to take the chequered flag in both races at Monza, here is an informative guide to who has been previously successful at this tricky track...

*The Marrakech city street circuit has hosted the African leg of the FIA WTCC since 2009, with the exception of 2011 when the race was cancelled due to the promoter of the event being unable to commit to financial agreements for the round.

*Yvan Muller and RML, both of whom dominated in the treacherous and wet conditions of Monza two weeks ago, will take great comfort from the fact that they not only lead this year's drivers' and teams' championships, but have shared success at this track in past seasons.

*No driver has been significantly dominant, with twice triple champions Andy Priaulx and Muller taking a victory each.

*Twice single title winners, Gabriele Tarquini and reigning champ Rob Huff have also shared win each.

*Completing the six wins from six races are former RML Chevrolet drivers Nicola Larini and Alain Menu. Marrakech is the scene of Larini's only WTCC victory in 2009, the ex-F1 driver's final season in the series.

*Local boy, Mehdi Bennani, who races for the Yokohama Independents trophy, has won his class on two occasions at his home track, but is desperate for an outright podium, having scored three ninth-places in the past as his personal best results.

*Team RML, with the Chevrolet Cruze, has been by far the most successful team and manufacturer combination, taking four wins to SEAT and BMW's rather lonesome one apiece. The 2012 races were a complete podium lock-out for the three RML Chevrolets, which dominated from start to finish.

*Pepe Oriola holds the circuit's fastest lap, with a 1min 44.617secs effort from last year's first race in his Tuenti SEAT.

by Dexter Fielding

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yvan Muller [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Tom Coronel - ROAL Chevrolet Cruze
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Mehdi Bennani - Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen
Mehdi Bennani - Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen
Gabriele Tarquini - LADA Vesta TC1
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing   [pic credit: FIA WTCC media/Alexandre Guillaumot]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.