Citroen confirms four cars for 2014 WTCC season

Citroen confirms the signing of José Maria Lopez for the new WTCC season - and announces the addition of a fourth car for its debut campaign
Citroen has confirmed that it has agreed a deal with José Maria Lopez for the 2014 World Touring Car Championship – and also revealed that it will run a fourth car during its first season in the series.

Lopez, who won on his first outing in the series with Wiechers-Sport in Argentina earlier this year, will compete in a full season alongside defending champion Yvan Muller and multiple World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb.

The 30-year-old will be moving into the WTCC on a full-time basis having spent recent seasons competing in the Argentine TC 2000 series, having missed out on the chance to move into F1 back in 2010 when the planned USF1 programme fell apart.

“For me, it is an honour to join Citroen and I am very excited to be involved in the programme,” he said. “I have touring car experience in Argentina and I aim to do my best and give the team the help they need to develop the car and also do a good job on track.

“I am excited to share the team with Yvan and Sebastien as they are two of the best drivers in the world. I come from Cordoba so have watched Seb on the rally stages for many years and it is a dream to now have him as a team-mate.”

Alongside Lopez, Citroen has now revealed it will also field a fourth C-Elysee during the course of the season for a currently unknown Chinese driver as it seeks to strengthen its position in the Asian market.

A selection process is currently underway to find that driver, who will be on-track for the Asian races in the latter part of the year.

“After spending the last ten years or so at the top of the WRC, we are excited about the idea of writing a new chapter in our shared history with Sebastien Loeb," Citroen Racing boss Yves Matton said. "We chose the WTCC because it is a form of racing with controlled costs, a genuinely-worldwide race calendar and a lot of media coverage.

"As was the case in cross country/rally-raid and in WRC, we have attempted to secure the best drivers for our team. Yvan Muller has been heavily involved in development of the car, and has been one the driving forces behind the progress we have made. But we also have high expectations of José-Maria López, who has proven to be very comfortable at the wheel of the C-Elysee WTCC during his first tests…”

2014 World Touring Car Championship grid (as at 16/12/13):

Yvan Muller Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee
Sebastien Loeb Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee
José Maria Lopez Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee
TBC Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee
Gabriele Tarquini Honda WTC Team Honda Civic
Tiago Monteiro Honda WTC Team Honda Civic
Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda Civic
Mehdi Bennani Proteam Racing Honda Civic
Rob Huff LADA Sport LADA Granta
James Thompson LADA Sport LADA Granta
Mikhail Kozlovskiy LADA Sport LADA Granta
Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet Cruze
Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet Cruze
Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze
Dusan Borkovic NIS Petrol Racing Team SEAT Leon *
Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport SEAT Leon * Selected events
Marc Basseng Munnich Motorsport SEAT Leon * Selected events

* denotes TC2 class – all others TC1
Subject to publication of the official FIA WTCC entry list

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jose Maria Lopez - Wiechers Sport, BMW 320 TC [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Citroen officially presents its 2014 WTCC line-up
Citroen officially presents its 2014 WTCC line-up
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Tom Coronel - ROAL Chevrolet Cruze
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.