Dusan Borkovic is to compete in a new Chevrolet Cruze for his maiden season in the World Touring Car Championship after a change to his plans for 2014.

Borkovic had originally announced his intentions to compete in the new second tier of the series at the wheel of a SEAT Leon run by the Campos Racing team, but will instead now join Hugo Valente at the wheel of a second RML-built Cruze.

Campos will announce drivers for its SEATs at a later date.

"The original plan was to compete in the WTCC Yokohama Trophy at the wheel of a 2013 SEAT Le?n," Borkovic, who raced an ex-Jason Plato and Paul O'Neill Cruze in the ETCC last season, said. "However, recently the team offered me to drive a Chevrolet in the championship's elite class, competing against the top touring car aces.

"This was a now-or-never opportunity and I didn't have to think too much before I agreed with the proposal."

New team-mate Valente meanwhile said he was thrilled to be back with the team again for 2014 having been part of the Campos line-up in both 2012 and 2013.

"I am really happy to have signed with Campos Racing again," the Frenchman, who was the first driver confirmed in a 2014-spec Chevrolet when his deal was first announced, said. "It is an experienced team and I am overly excited with the idea of driving the new-specification Chevrolet. In 2013 I really enjoyed driving with some of the very best touring car drivers worldwide. I learnt a lot in the SEAT and now I face the challenge to get used to a faster car and be quick with such a small amount of testing before the first race.

"I hope that Du?an and I will be able to help the team to arrive in a good shape at the opening round in Marrakech. It is also a privilege for me being the third French driver in WTCC alongside the likes of Sebastien Loeb and Yvan Muller. It will be tough to beat them in their Citroen cars, but my aim is to keep on learning and improving, and make it to Q2 again. With the reverse grid, who knows what may happen."

2014 World Touring Car Championship grid (as at 29/12/13):

Yvan Muller Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee Sebastien Loeb Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee Jos? Maria Lopez Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee TBC Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee Gabriele Tarquini Honda WTC Team Honda Civic Tiago Monteiro Honda WTC Team Honda Civic Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda Civic Mehdi Bennani Proteam Racing Honda Civic Rob Huff LADA Sport LADA Granta James Thompson LADA Sport LADA Granta Mikhail Kozlovskiy LADA Sport LADA Granta Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet Cruze Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet Cruze Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze Dusan Borkovic Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport SEAT Leon * Selected events Marc Basseng Munnich Motorsport SEAT Leon * Selected events

* denotes TC2 class - all others TC1 Subject to publication of the official FIA WTCC entry list


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment