LADA trio back rules change

LADA drivers James Thompson and Rob Huff back start changes for the 2014 WTCC season
LADA pair James Thompson and Rob Huff have welcomed changes being made to the start procedure for the 2014 World Touring Car Championship season.

Under the changes, the series will no longer make use of rolling starts and will instead use a traditional standing start for every event over the course of the year.

Speaking ahead of the new season, Thompson admitted he hadn't been a fan of the rolling starts and was pleased to see them being taken away from the equation for the season ahead.

“The close proximity to the car in front at the start means you can seldom see the lights change,” he said, “ and if you aren't on the first row of the grid, you have to predict the start of the race from the cars around you. This has the added danger of bunching the field more closely as it arrives at the first corner.

“A standing start adds another dimension to the race for a team and driver, placing more importance on a good start that prevents the opposition from stealing positions at the green light.”

Huff meanwhile said he felt the decision to only use standing starts would improve the show for fans.

“Touring cars have always had standing starts and the rolling start idea was first coined to equalize the BMWs' strength off the line,” he said. “However, that advantage has now gone. Standing starts are much more exciting because they're harder to do.

“It's quite difficult getting touring cars off the line without wheelspin, so it puts more emphasis on the driver to do the job well and maintain or gain positions on the opening lap. I think it's a step in the right direction from a spectator's point of view too.”

Mikhail Kozlovskiy will drive the third LADA Granta Sport entered into the series for 2014.

Tagged as: Lada , Rob Huff , James Thompson , 2014

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
James Thompson - LADA Granta Sport [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
James Thompson - LADA Granta Sport [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Gabriele Tarquini - LADA Vesta TC1
Nicky Catsburg - Lada Sport Vesta
Gabriele Tarquini - Lada Sport Vesta   [pic credit: FIA WTCC media/Alexandre Guillaumot]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda
Rob Huff (GBR), LADA Sport, WTCC [Credit: XPB]
Nick Catsburg (NED), Lada Sport, WTCC, [Credit: Lada Sport]
Japp van Lagen (NED), Lada Sport, WTCC [Credit: LADA Sport]
James Thompson - Rosneft LADA Vesta
James Thompson - Rosneft LADA Vesta [credit: FIA WTCC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.