Citroen has completed its driver line-up for the 2014 World Touring Car Championship after confirming that former HRT F1 test driver Ma Qing Hua will be the fourth driver at the wheel of a new C-Elys?e.

The French manufacturer announced plans to run a fourth car for a Chinese driver when it launched its 2014 programme last month, with the team looking at a number of options before selecting the 26-year-old.

"It is a great honour to have been chosen by Citro?n Racing for this ambitious programme," he said. "I really enjoyed working with the team during the test sessions I was invited to take part in. I am really excited about the opportunity to race for a manufacturer with such a winning record and I will do my best to help Citroen to keep winning!

Related Articles

"It would, of course, be particularly special for me to have a good result in Macau and my hometown of Shanghai. But for now, I'm just looking forward to getting back behind the wheel of the C-Elys?e WTCC."

With Citroen keen to expand into the Chinese market, Hua will compete in the races in Shanghai and Macau, while his programme will also incorporate the final two events on the European schedule in Moscow and at Spa.

"We chose Ma Qing Hua not just for his nationality, but also for his performances," Citroen Racing boss Yves Matton said. "He made a positive impression on us during various tests in the C-Elys?e WTCC. We won't be able to enter four cars in every round of the championship in this first season, but we've managed to put together a coherent programme. Ma will compete in the last two European rounds - Moscow and Spa-Francorchamps - before lining up for his two home meetings, in Shanghai and Macao. The fifth race in his programme will be determined at a later date."

2014 World Touring Car Championship grid (as at 28/02/14):

Yvan Muller Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee Sebastien Loeb Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee Jos? Maria Lopez Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee Ma Qing Hua Citroen Racing Citroen C-Elysee Gabriele Tarquini Honda WTC Team Honda Civic Tiago Monteiro Honda WTC Team Honda Civic Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda Civic Mehdi Bennani Proteam Racing Honda Civic Rob Huff LADA Sport LADA Granta James Thompson LADA Sport LADA Granta Mikhail Kozlovskiy LADA Sport LADA Granta Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet Cruze Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet Cruze Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze Dusan Borkovic Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze TBA Onyx Racing TBA TBA Onyx Racing TBA Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport SEAT Leon * Selected events Marc Basseng Munnich Motorsport SEAT Leon * Selected events TBA Campos Racing SEAT Leon *

* denotes TC2 class - all others TC1 Subject to publication of the official FIA WTCC entry list